Instead of being lazy. . . Making Seitan

So, since I’m a teacher, I can slack off a little bit all summer. My original plan for today was:
Wake up
Eat breakfast
Go for a run
Lounge around
Eat lunch
Sit on my ass
Eat dinner
Return to my ass

What I actually did was a little different. After I woke up, I did eat breakfast and go for a run, so that much of my plan was good. After that. . . well, things started to fall apart. Our cat threw up at about 1:30 A.M., so you can imagine how well I did cleaning it up, and had to re-scrub the carpet after we got back from our run. Then we decided to make seitan (see recipe below). Seitan, for those of you who don’t know, is a plant protein made from wheat gluten, so it’s very high in protein.

In order to make the seitan, however, we needed to pick up aluminum foil, so I went into the basement and got my bicycle, as the Weis is only about a mile away, and it was a nice day on the East Coast. So I rode my bike to the grocery story, and picked up the things I needed (bananas, oranges, cereal, aluminum foil, and a champagne mango. Aren’t you glad you get to read my grocery list?).

Once I got home, I started making the seitan… instead of sitting on my ass.
Cooking the seitan takes a bit of time, so once I got that started, THEN I got to lounge around for some time.

So, home made seitan: (Edit: This recipe is from Robin Robertson’s cookbook, Vegan on the Cheap. Thank you to my lovely blonde vegan wife for telling me.)
1/3 C. white beans, cooked or canned, and drained
1/4 C. low sodium soy sauce
1 3/4 C. vegetable broth
1 Tbsp. olive oil
2 C. vital wheat gluten
1/2 C. nutritional yeast
2 tsp. onion powder
1 tsp. garlic powder
1/2 tsp. salt

1. Preheat the oven to 350*
2. Put all wet ingredients (and beans) into a food processor or blender, and mix/blend/puree until they’re all liquified and blended.
3. Put all dry ingredients into a large bowl, and mix together.
4. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry, mixing with a wooden spoon until they’re all combined, then knead for 3 minutes (the amount of time actually matters here, so set a timer or something).
5. Shape the dough into an oval, (I prefer a tube) and place it onto a sheet of oiled/sprayed aluminum foil, large enough to wrap the loaf TIGHTLY. This is key to getting the right texture. Wrap the loaf super tightly in the foil, and then place the wrapped loaf into a tray large enough to hold it, and add about 1″ of water to the bottom of the tray.
6. Cover the tray tightly, and place it into the oven for 1:45, or until the loaf is very dense and fairly bursting at the seams.
7. Once it’s done, take it out, and let it cook, because it will be extremely hot. Let it cool out of the foil, not still wrapped, for the texture to be meatier.

So, that’s what I did today. Exciting, right? I’ll let you know what we use the seitan for later, but really, think of it as vegan meat, and play with it in strips, in soups, stew, and just play with it.

~ by VegansHusband on June 26, 2012.

7 Responses to “Instead of being lazy. . . Making Seitan”

  1. Your recipe looks rockin’, I’m pretty sure you could turn it into the wribz by just slathering BBQ sauce on it after pressing it into a dish… I’m going to try your method to improve the texture for my italian seitan sausages.

  2. Definitely “dose” with BBQ sauce and bake sometime. I also put strips with peppers, onions, tomatoes, BBQ sauce, into a slow cooker (in this case, a crockette – 1.5 qts.), let simmer all day for great topping on a bun-based sandwich.

    • Tried this last night. I cut the seitan into strips and tossed with bbq sauce, then wrapped it all up in aluminum foil before baking it. Not bad at all, but I’ll try it with the veggies once we start getting peppers and tomatoes from our CSA. Thanks for the suggestion.

  3. […] I learned about pressing tofu (Get a tofu press, stat!), tempeh (my favorite meat alternative), seitan, and roasting veggies correctly. My palate expanded by about 50% by the blonde going […]

  4. […] make the seitan sausages, follow my recipe here or here and just change the ingredients as […]

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

