Busy, Busy Week…

So, the blonde and I had a busy week. Between the 4th of July at my sister-in-law’s, getting our Vitamix, and going to a dinner party Saturday night, we did quite a bit this week.

Monday and Tuesday, the blonde had jury duty, so on Monday, I actually didn’t get out of my PJs.  Yup. PJs+couch+nook=awesome day!

Tuesday, we headed down to see my sister-in-law and her brood (3 sons, aged 10 yrs., 3 yrs., 10 mo., 1 daughter, aged 8 yrs.) and their pool. . . Ok, we went down to vis t their pool first, and then them. Don’t judge me. We also brought down a cookie pie, courtesy of Chocolate Covered Katie (see below for recipe). It went over like gang busters. In fact, it was so good that all three kids (who are on solid food) loved it, and even my father-in-law (who last week said “Is this cake normal, or it is vegan?” “Vegan, never mind then. I don’t want any.”[Because chemicals and chemically altered food is “normal,” apparently]) even he like it, although we didn’t tell him it was vegan.

Wednesday, we made portabello ‘burgers’ on the grill, while everyone else had chicken ka-bobs.  I have to tell you, I’m not impressed with meat many more. The more I saw it this week, the less drawn I was to it.  It didn’t even smell good to me.  This is a major step for me, because, well, I always loved the smell of food, and, not to suggest that I don’t love when I bake bread (like I did this week) or have pasta sauce on the stove, but the smell of roasting meat just didn’t do anything for me. I didn’t salivate, I didn’t stare at it longingly. I was just kind of grossed out.

Thursday, I made cinnamon-raisin-nut bread. I took a pretty simple bread recipe in my bread maker, threw in 2 Tbsp. cinnamon, and added 2/3 cup raisin, 2/3 cup walnut pieces, and 1/3 cup raw sunflower seeds to the bowl in the last kneading cycle.  I had it for breakfast Friday, slathered in Olivio coconut butter, and it was awesome.

Yesterday, though, we got our Vitamix.  We were, and remain, excited.

After reading the novels that it comes with, I sat down to start using the awesomeness that is the Vitamix.

The two long cookbooks that the Vitamix comes with.

I started with juice.  I dropped one orange, quartered, one carrot from our CSA, cut into thirds, a piece of ginger about half the size of my pink, and a cup of ice cubes (most ice cube trays make 1/8 cup ice cubes).

The carrots from our CSA are red, not orange, and are a little bit sweeter than the orange ones.

I then blended it for 30-45 seconds, and, ta-da!

Orange, carrot, ginger juice!

I put it back into the refrigerator, and got it super cold.  It was extra tasty.

Later that night, I made ice cream. I used almond milk, and it was not great, but once I get it straight, I’ll post pics of that too.

.

So, here is the chocolate-chip cookie pie that we made, twice, that people loved.  Enjoy!

vegan cookie cake

Photo courtesy chocolatecoveredkatie.com

Giant Chocolate-Chip Cookie Cake

  • 1/2 cup quick oats
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 can white beans or garbanzos (drained and rinsed) (250g)
  • 1.5 tbsp oil (vegetable or coconut or canola)
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Blend everything (except the chips) very well in a food processor. Mix in chips, and pour into an oiled pan. Cook at 350 F for around 20 minutes. Let stand at least 10 minutes before removing from the pan.

~ by VegansHusband on July 7, 2012.

4 Responses to “Busy, Busy Week…”

  1. Aha, the bread recipe Erika and I were waiting for! Excellent, that chocolate chip cookie pie looks pretty radical too. Mmm garbanzo cookie.

    • I sort of wish that I had added some ground flax seed to it too, but, other than that the brad it really good. I just had 2 slices for breakfast!

      • I tried to make some with my own basic recipe, plus cinnamon, agave and the raisins. It didn’t rise. Weird :/ I pretty much make bread 3 or 4 times a week so it’s not the yeast….

  2. […] thank goodness I had brought my cinnamon-raisin-nut bread, because the only option for breakfast on Monday was cereal and cow’s milk, and I […]

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

