Best man duties, and my last hurrah

About two weeks ago, I was asked to be the best man in a close friend’s wedding. My friend, Jason, asked me to be in his wedding as a groomsman much earlier in the year, but his first choice for best man had to pull out for reasons that Jason completely understood, and when I called him to get some last minute details, about 15 days before the wedding, he asked me to step in.

Let em give you a little bit of background on our relationship. Jason and I worked for two semi-competing companies in New Jersey a million years ago. We started hanging out a bit, and he met, and adored, my wife. He’s a huge Yankee fan, and our love of baseball helped us really start hanging out when we were working near each other. Jason is one of the kindest, calmest, most loving guys in the world. When I asked Jason to be in my wedding, that was why.  He is wonderful, and then, like a total jack-ass, he moved to Minneapolis.

I was not pleased.

But back to my original point, he was in my wedding, and,at the last minute, my best man couldn’t deliver a best man speech. With about 2 minutes to prepare, I turned to Jason, and he stepped up, delivered a wonderful speech, and impressed everyone, myself included.

Best Man, Speech, Wedding, David's Bridal, Bride, Groom, outdoor wedding, wedding tent

Jason’s Speech for me was kind, casual, and completely unprepared.

When Jason asked me to step up, I did, and my speech was awesome (if I do say so myself). However, my quality speech didn’t even come close to the super-awesomeness of their venue, the Brooklyn Winery. My memory of the celebration may be slightly colored by the volume of beer I drank (exclusively Brewery Ommegang’s Witte, which I will review soon) but I am pretty sure that I drank exactly enough to remember the celebration and reception.

MArriage, wedding, bride, groom, bride and groom, brooklyn winery, brooklyn, brooklyn wedding

The happy couple

Brooklyn, Brooklyn Winery, Wedding, marriage, reception, wedding reception, Brooklyn wedding

The venue for the wedding was beautiful.

The winery had all super quality food, although I only asked very pointed questions about the cheese and different sausages (apparently they were awesome). The dinner we ate started with a kale salad, and for a main course we ate eggplant with a spicy Thai peanut-mint sauce. I’ll give it a shot on the stove at some pint and let you know how it goes.

The vegan highlight of the weekend, however, was the visit to Champs, in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, on the corner of Ainslie and Leonard Sts.

Champs, Brooklyn, Vegan, Brooklyn Vegan, Ainslie St., Vegan dinner

The corner of Ainslie and Leonard.

I know, clearly the blonde and I needed to go into New York again to eat at a vegan restaurant. We got barbecue seitan skewers to start, which were good, but the sauce was more like a sweet salad dressing. It was good, but not amazing.

Seitan, barbecue, Champs, Vegan, Vegan skewers, vegan Brooklyn, Lunch

The skewers for an appetizer.

The main dishes, however, were quite good. The blonde got a salad called the “Buenos Dias” which had a tofu scramble layered between greens, including a decent amount of kale, and small slabs of tempeh bacon. The salad itself was very good. The blonde only shared a bit with me, but, really, I would have used a bit more of the salad dressing than she did.

vegan, salad, tempeh, tempeh bacon, vegan bacon, tofu scramble, champs, vegan Brooklyn

The tempeh bacon set this salad apart.

That’s ok, though, because I got a burger. Champs offers three types of burgers: 1. The seitan/tempeh burger, 2. The chikn’ patty, and 3. The Sweet & Smokey, made with black beans and corn. I got the Sweet & Smokey, with cheddar/mozzarella cheese and tempeh bacon. I also gave myself a little sririacha chili sauce to dip[ in, and the mix was utterly delicious.

vegan, bacon, cheeseburger, black bean, champs, brooklyn,

My burger was extra good.

I want to thank [Erin] Red of erinred.tumblr.com and RedRadio for suggesting Champs.

I also have decided on a new schedule for my posts. My plan is to write a regular, totally unattached blog post on Sundays. I know I’ve been mostly writing about traveling as a vegan, and I think that I will continue to do so, as much as possible. Now that school is starting, I imagine some of my posts will become a little. . . less positive. I also know that the blonde and I have been discussing trying  out a different recipe each weekend so that we have a few options to bring up to my mother’s house for Thanksgiving. She’s a total omnivore, and, for three days each year, I don’t think that the 15  people that are invited up eat anything other than meat. We have much to bring up if we want to eat that week, and we both have every intention of trying to convince at least a few of the folks there to begin leaning towards veganism. Believe me, I’ll let you know how that goes. . .

I also think that I’m going to dedicate my Wednesday post to a beer or wine review. This will open up an opportunity for me to dedicate real time to blogging for Sunday, and give me an excuse to drink during the week. I can also hammer out a few posts about vegan beer or wine during the week, so that if for some reason I can’t write a fresh post, I can upload one of those.

If you have any special requests, such as beers or wine on which you would like my opinion, let me know. I want to write what you want to read, and, as happy as I am to use this blog to talk in an echo-chamber, I would way rather have company here.

~ by VegansHusband on August 26, 2012.

6 Responses to “Best man duties, and my last hurrah”

  1. You and the Blonde go to the coolest places! Great pictures, story, BEER!!

    • I love that you call my wife “the Blonde” also! My sisters-in-law were confused by it, but I figure, I get a kick out of it, so, why not?

      • Of my three kids the oldest has red hair and the other two are as blonde as I was as a kid- when calling number 2 and 3 for any reason we yell for the blondes- it comes naturally : )

  2. Good morning! I have tagged you. 🙂 If you would like to participate, please see my latest blog at: http://meetyourtreat.wordpress.com/2012/08/28/up-for-a-game-of-tag/
    Niki

  3. Okay, you just made us tear up a bit. Although you stepped in at the last minute, I know Jason had a hard time picking between you and Sean in the first place. So, we could not be happier with you as our best man. Thank you!!!

    • Thank me? Thank you. I was thrilled to be able to do this for you guys. Like I said, I gave Jason 2 minutes, he gave me 2 weeks. We love you guys, and were just thrilled to be present for you.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

