All Hail the PumKing!

This past Sunday, while doing one of the least-vegan things I do, watching football, I settled down on the couch, and poured myself a tall glass of Southern Tier‘s Imperial Pumking ale.

Southern Tier, Pumking, pumpkin ale, Pumking Ale, New York beer, Southern Tier Brewing, Seasonal beer, Seasonal ale, Autumn beer, fall beer,

The mighty king of pumpkin beer. All hail!

First, the nose. Imagine you just baked a pumpkin pie, and someone about 10 feet away is puling it from the oven, as you take a swallow of your rich, brown ale. Now, take the minute it takes to wrap your head around that combination of scents, and you’ll get pretty close to half of what the nose of the Imperial ale did to my brain.

And I don’t mean the 8.6 ABV.

The color was a rich amber/gold, with a healthy head, and fair lacing. But then I tasted it. . .

Southern Tier, Pumking, pumpkin ale, Pumking Ale, New York beer, Southern Tier Brewing, Seasonal beer, Seasonal ale, Autumn beer, fall beer,

Oh wow, was this seasonal ale amazing.

The flavor of this pumpkin ale was, well, in a word, amazing. I am not a huge fan of pumpkin ale, but this beer may have converted me.  Rich and malty, with sweet and spicy overtones, Pumking set itself apart through the depth of its flavor. Hoppy, but not enough so you would notice, I was continually impressed by this beer’s ability to be drinkable and delicious, with the right flavor combinations so as to not be overpowering.

My sole complaint about this beer is that I didn’t pour it into the appropriate glass. It say, very clearly, on the back, that the ideal glass for this beer is a goblet, and I was thinking “ale,” which suggests pint glass. Since I drank this beer from a pint glass, and not a goblet, I can only wonder how much better it would have been in a goblet.

If I can find another bottle, I’ll pick that one up, but because of the limited production, I expect finding another bottle to be very difficult. If you happen across one, grab it, I promise that you won’t be disappointed.

That having been said, do you drink seasonal beers? I like Autumnal beers the best, but a good Summer beer is always delicious. . . What is your favorite?

~ by VegansHusband on September 12, 2012.

5 Responses to “All Hail the PumKing!”

  1. Um, yes, that totally required a goblet.

    Hey, I broke up with Good Clean Food and started my own gig. Come check me out!

    http://www.vedgedout.com

  2. Wow. I don’t drink much beer anymore, but you sure just made me want to have that one!

  3. I’m a huge fan of Samuel Adam’s Octoberfest. I crave it every year when it comes out. I’m like you in that I’m not a huge fan of pumpkin beers, but if I see this I’ll have to give it a try.

    • I got lucky today too. We went up to the liquor store, and they had gotten a second shipment in of the Pumking, but it was the last production for the year. So I grabbed at second bottle, warm, so that I’m not tempted to drink it. . .

      If you do see it, get two. One for now, and one for later. I think I’ll take mine to Thanksgiving dinner.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

