Beer Wednesday: XVII

Happy Beer Wednesday all! After the week I’m having, I could use one. . .

This week, I’m happy to be reviewing Weyerbacher Seventeen.

Weyerbacher Seventeen, Weyerbacher, seventeen, XVII, Weyerbacher XVII, Saison Ale, Pink Peppercorn beer, Grapefruit beer, Citrus Ale, Citrus Beer, Pennsylvania Beer, Pennsylvania Ale

O.K., I admit it, I was taken in by the label.

Coming in at a style (and sobriety) shaking 10.5% ABV, the Weyerbacher XVII was a little disappointing. The color was interesting, a bright golden yellow, with orangish hints, but, as is becoming a nasty theme with me, the head was completely disappointing. It was thin, and left little to no lacing on the glass.

Weyerbacher Seventeen, Weyerbacher, seventeen, XVII, Weyerbacher XVII, Saison Ale, Pink Peppercorn beer, Grapefruit beer, Citrus Ale, Citrus Beer, Pennsylvania Beer, Pennsylvania Ale, Pint Glass, Pint of Ale, Pint of Beer

In term of flavor, the yeast was a bit present, with forward flavors of citrus, but a very grapefruit-y finish, that seems like it was over-hopped. That same bitterness that hops presents was present in this, but with a citrus tang. Not bad, just a little odd.

I got very little of the citrus flavors outside of the grapefruit at the end, and some lemon zest on the nose,. In the middle, it wasn’t as present as I would have liked.

I won’t lie and say that I usually love wheat beers. I don’t. This had the look of a wheat beer, but I always look for a more forward citrus out of mine, when i do enjoy them. I also was not wild about he alcohol that I could taste throughout the bottle. I would rather it be a mellower, calmer brew than one that is so forward, but for 10.5%, I suppose I can live with it.

Over all, not my favorite, but some of that would be because I don’t love the style, so, take that for what you will. I would give this 3. . . somethings. (Still no really ‘knock me out’ ideas for a rating tool.) Not one I would buy again, but as part of a mix-six, it was worth it.

Weyerbacher Seventeen, Weyerbacher, seventeen, XVII, Weyerbacher XVII, Saison Ale, Pink Peppercorn beer, Grapefruit beer, Citrus Ale, Citrus Beer, Pennsylvania Beer, Pennsylvania Ale

~ by VegansHusband on October 3, 2012.

3 Responses to “Beer Wednesday: XVII”

  1. I just posted the dessert version! =D

  2. Haha, what’s wrong with ‘somethings’ as a rating system? It doens’t really matter what you call the ratings as long as you give a descriptive, accurate review, right?
    I happen to love wheat beers, though I couldn’t describe them the way you do. I know that I like strong citrus flavors but find that they can be lost in brews with a high alcohol content. Idon’t know if I would be willing to try this if I came across it…doesn’t seem worth getting a buzz off one drink if the flavors aren’t really outstanding.

Leave a comment

 
Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Michelle Neff

Writer and Social Media Strategist