Beer Wednesday – ‘t Hofbrouwerijke – Bosprotter

Happy Beer Wednesday, and Happy Halloween!

In celebration of this most terrifying of holidays, I was taken in by the label on this ‘t Hofbrouwerijke – Bosprotter, which literally means “forest farter,” but is more honestly translated as “hippy” or “woodsy-guy,” (thankfully) and has one of the cooler labels I’ve seen. As such, it was prominently displayed at the liquor store in their “Halloween” section, along side Rogue Dead Guy ale and whiskey, among others.

't Hofbrouwerijke Brosprotter, Hofbrouwerijke Brosprotter, Brosprotter, Hofbrouwerijke, Belgian Tripel, Tripel, Belgian beer, wizard label, Beerzel Belgium

A weird looking wizard, brewing up something in the forest. . .

Admitting that I was completely taken in by the packaging, the fact that this was a Belgian Tripel brewed in Belgium is really what sold me. If you’re paying attention, you know I love Belgian beers, and this Tripel had a lot of the same characteristics that I love. The head was thick and stayed around for a while, and the nose was bready and yeasty, without much in the way of hops.

't Hofbrouwerijke Bosprotter, 't Hofbrouwerijke, Bosprotter, Hofbrouwerijke, belgian beer, belgian ale, belgian tripel, tripel, belgium, belgian, beerzel, wizard beer, wood wizard label, wizard label,

A rich head, and great color complimented a bready nose and honeyed taste.

While I like the bitter citrusy flavor of  a hoppy beer, this tripel had more of a honey or molasses taste to it, and that flavor kind of hung around a bit after I drank the glass. The 8.5% ABV certainly wasn’t as noticeable as it could have been, but the sweetness had a way of clinging to my tongue after I drank it. The carbonation that wasn’t too heavy may have played a part in it, but I really liked the light, almost velvety consistency of the beer itself, and the in-bottle re-fermentation process I’m sure had a lot to do with that.

Overall, I enjoyed this beer, although not as much as some other Belgians I’ve had in the past. It’s pretty good, and I would certainly give Hofbrouwerijke’s other beers a try, but I’d call this a 4/5, or a 7.8/10. Take your pick.

Disclaimer: I decided on this post before Hurricane Sandy slapped the East Coast. Had I been properly prepared for that, I would have chosen an appropriately themed beer. We never lost power, and are in good shape. Thanks for the concern.

Ever have one of their other beers? What did you think about it?

~ by VegansHusband on October 31, 2012.

3 Responses to “Beer Wednesday – ‘t Hofbrouwerijke – Bosprotter”

  1. I’m intrigued. You know tonight I had a New Belgium Hopptoberfest. It was pretty fantastic, I’m guessing you’ve probably had it before. Hopefully I’ll review it one of these days. Glad you guys are safe and still have power.

    • I’m familiar with a few of New Belgium’s beers, but they have only relatavely recently started selling their beers in MD, so I haven’t seen Hopptoberfest. I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled.

      Thanks for the recommendation

  2. It is Belgian! yeah! My husband loves this beer! 😉

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

