VVP – Redux! (kinda) Once More, With Gnocchi

So, this past Thursday was the Virtual Vegan Potluck, and it was a raging success! After managing to put together a delicious dish of ravioli, with just a few issues, I was left with a good amount of Green Tomato Pesto left over. I didn’t know what to do with it, exactly, so it has been languishing in my refrigerator for days, lonely and sad and alone. Today, for no reason other than because we have a bunch of them, I decided to make sweet potato gnocchi, and top it with the green tomato pesto. I also ended up roasting some Brussels sprouts as a side dish.

Because, why not?

Sweet Potato Gnocchi, gnocchi, sweet potato, pasta, potato pasta, italian dumpling, roasted Brussels Sprouts, Brussesl Sprouts, green tomato pesto, pesto, green tomato, basil

Dinner Time!

So first, the Sweet Potato Gnocchi:

roughly 2 lbs. sweet potatoes, baked for about 45 – 60 min. at 425*, skins removed
2 teaspoon sea salt
½ teaspoon ground nutmeg
¼ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
2 ½ to 3 ½ cups all-purpose flour

Mash the sweet potatoes while warm, and mix in the seasonings.

Sweet Potato Gnocchi, gnocchi, sweet potato, pasta, potato pasta, italian dumpling, roasted Brussels Sprouts, Brussesl Sprouts, green tomato pesto, pesto, green tomato, basil, baked sweet potato

**Be sure to mash the sweet potatoes very well, but do not put them in a food processor. You don’t want them too whipped.**

Sweet Potato Gnocchi, gnocchi, sweet potato, pasta, potato pasta, italian dumpling, roasted Brussels Sprouts, Brussesl Sprouts, green tomato pesto, pesto, green tomato, basil, baked sweet potato

Mashed, not whipped, sweet potatoes

Once the sweet potatoes are fully cooled, start to mix in the flour with a wooden spoon, ½ a cup at a time. You want the dough to become a soft, sticky dough. I needed about 3 ¼ cups, and I hand-mashed the sweet potatoes with a fork.

Once as much flour is mixed in as you need to form the dough, separate it out into 6 or 8 pieces. Each piece should be rolled into a ball, about half the size of a fist. If you have small hands, then you may want smaller balls to work with.

Sweet Potato Gnocchi, gnocchi, sweet potato, pasta, potato pasta, italian dumpling, roasted Brussels Sprouts, Brussesl Sprouts, green tomato pesto, pesto, green tomato, basil, baked sweet potato

6-8 Dough balls, depending on how big your hands are.

Roll each ball out into a rope, roughly ½” in diameter. I always make mine too big, so if you end up with ones that are the thickness of a thumb, rather than a forefinger, it’s not the end of the world. Then cut the ropes into roughly 1″ long pillow-shaped dumplings. Repeat 7 more times.

Sweet Potato Gnocchi, gnocchi, sweet potato, pasta, potato pasta, italian dumpling, roasted Brussels Sprouts, Brussesl Sprouts, green tomato pesto, pesto, green tomato, basil, baked sweet potato, sweet potato rope, how big do I make gnocchi ropes

Honestly, this part didn’t get boring. . .

To get the cool little divots, just roll the mini-dumplings on the tines of a fork.

Sweet Potato Gnocchi, gnocchi, sweet potato, pasta, potato pasta, italian dumpling, roasted Brussels Sprouts, Brussesl Sprouts, green tomato pesto, pesto, green tomato, basil, baked sweet potato

This part got boring.

To cook, boil a large pot of water, and as soon as it get to a roiling boil, turn the heat down to a high simmer. Gently drop the gnocchi into the simmering water. After about 4 minutes, the gnocchi should start to float. Let them cook for about 30 seconds to a minute more, and then lift them out with a slotted spoon and serve.

To make the green-tomato pesto, you’ll want to visit my Virtual Vegan Potluck page, and roll down to about the bottom third of the page.

As for the Brussels Sprouts:

Brussels Sprouts, fresh sprouts, mini cabbages

I love fresh Brussels sprouts.

Toss the sprouts in 1-2 tsp. olive oil, with 1 tsp sea salt, and ½ tsp ground black pepper.
Roast at 415* for 15 minutes, and give them a shake. Then put them back in and turn the heat down to 400*.

Sweet Potato Gnocchi, gnocchi, sweet potato, pasta, potato pasta, italian dumpling, roasted Brussels Sprouts, Brussesl Sprouts, green tomato pesto, pesto, green tomato, basil, baked sweet potato, dinner, make gnocchi

And so, a dinner that might have been good enough for the VVP, but instead, was dinner for two.

I remain super thankful that Annie, over at An Unrefined Vegan, Somer at Vedged Out, and Jason, at Jason and the Veganauts arranged the VVP with Vegan Bloggers Unite and included me. I can’t possibly thank them all enough, and a very special thank you to all of you for coming to visit today. Give these a shot, and let me know what you think. . .

~ by VegansHusband on November 4, 2012.

21 Responses to “VVP – Redux! (kinda) Once More, With Gnocchi”

  1. I have been doing ZERO cooking and I’m feeling like I just need to come eat at your house for a week, m’kay?

  2. I love brussel sprouts especially roasted. unfortuantely they don’t love me, but I’ll for sure take some of the gnocchi!

  3. You’re killing me with all this good pasta!!

  4. I love gnocchi and brussel sprouts! This is a perfect combination.

  5. I’ll be trying this out rather soon. Looks amazing.

  6. All right, this is just incredible Jody!

  7. and you’ve got JL commenting on your blog, superstar…..

    • She only comments on my blog because I thanked her in one of my first posts, and tweeted at her. (BTW, you need to get a Twitter, girl.)

      I’m glad you think the recipe looks good too.

      • I’m scared of twitter! It just seems vain to me, as if who cares what I have to say, but then again I blog…..

        I have totally been thinking butternut gnocchi, you beat me to the punch, but with sweet potato, although I was thinking mushroom alfredo instead of pesto….

      • OK, you need to be less afraid of Twitter. At this point, everyone that matters does it, and you’re smart enough and pithy enough that you’d be great. Trust me.

        Oh, and mushroom alfredo? Yes please!

      • Dude, you are so wrong! I comment because I follow your blog and have you on my blogroll because you have a great blog! So there!

      • You=superstar… I’d be lying if I didn’t tell you that my heart just fluttered a tad. Thank you so much for the support; it means more than you know. My wife’s going to be sooo jealous.

  8. We made this tonight, and after a bit of trial and error, we call it a success! We served ours with traditional tomato sauce (green tomatoes are hard to come by this time of year in Iowa!). We froze the extra for later. We’ll see that works out…

    • That’s awesome! We had exactly the same for dinner tonight also. Ours was frozen, so I can tell you that they do cook up fine after being frozen. Just give them about 3 additional minutes in the water and stir them gently to make sure they seperate, and thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

