Beer Wednesday – 1554

Are you familiar with New Belgium Brewery? They make Fat Tire, and a half-dozen other exceptional beers in Colorado. Well, on a quest for beers worthy of Beer Wednesday, I stumbled across a delicious, malty, rich black ale of theirs, 1554.

This rich, dark brew has none of the hoppiness that I usually love, but wow was it a perfect pair for a roasted cauliflower steak. The rich chocolate and malt flavors, with its bright nose and mocha finish, really paired well with the caramalization of the cauliflower. I was seriously impressed.

The head was rich and firm, without being heavy,and the color was deep and dark, almost like a stout, but without the heaviness of a stout. Overall, it was an exceptional brew, and one I’m really quite glad I picked up.

**N.B.** I’m currently having computer problems, and, like a butt-head, I took pics with my camera, and not my phone, so pics of this lovely beer will have to wait until… my computer is better. Sorry!

~ by VegansHusband on December 12, 2012.

3 Responses to “Beer Wednesday – 1554”

  1. I really enjoy 1554 as well and now you’ve intrigued me about this Cauliflower steak. I would have never thought to do something like that. I’ll definitely have to give it a go.

    • Yeah, the 1554 is really good, and the cauliflower steak carries a lot of the same smokiness that a traditional streak has, but, obviously, it’s roasted cauliflower. I treat it pretty much the same as steak for prep, though. I start it in a cast iron pan and finish it in the oven.

    • Oh, and I was totally thinking of you as I bought this one.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

