Whatcha Eatin’? Beer and Pizza

After some discussion over the past week, I started thinking about my options for this blog. Now, the best feedback I got was that I should trust myself, but that people like how I talk about food. I tookt that to heart, and decided to create a semi-regular posting called “Whatcha Eatin’?” This Sunday is the first, and I was in the mood for some comfort food, so we had beer and pizza.

This weekend, the Blonde went to Trader Joe’s. Now, she went for some of our regular food shopping, but while there she snapped a pic of Trader Joe’s new vegan mozzarella style shreds. Being huge pizza people, we were excited.

Trader Joe's, vegan cheese, vegan shreds, mozzarella, vegan mozzarella, vegan pizza, onion pizza, mushroom pizza, homemade pizza, garlic pizza, whole wheat pizza crust

Well, she was excited. I was doubtful.

Happily, I was impressed by the quality of the cheese. It melted pretty nicely, and while it wasn’t great, I preferred the taste to the taste of Daiya mozzarella.

This specific not-zzarella was a bit on the creamy side, ending up with a soft, almost liquid, texture. At the end of the day, however, it made for a pretty good pizza.

We used TJ’s pizza dough also, which we’ve used before, and it was pretty good, although I always have to add flour to get it to roll out.

A big pile of veggies (mushrooms, garlic, and onion) filled out the pizza, and for sauce, if you don’t have any homemade sauce, I tend to go for something easy, organic when possible.

All of this to tell you what I did to make my dinner!

Be excited…

Trader Joe's, vegan cheese, vegan shreds, mozzarella, vegan mozzarella, vegan pizza, onion pizza, mushroom pizza, homemade pizza, garlic pizza, whole wheat pizza crust, flying fish, flying fish brewery, vegan beer, vegan ale, exit 4, American trippel, belgian ale

Make sure you bake the crust before you top it or it will be soggy when you pull it out of the oven. I do it for about 8 minutes at 415*.

Top with sauce, then toppings, then cheese, and back in the oven for another 8-10 minutes, and you’re in business!

Trader Joe's, vegan cheese, vegan shreds, mozzarella, vegan mozzarella, vegan pizza, onion pizza, mushroom pizza, homemade pizza, garlic pizza, whole wheat pizza crust, sauce, pasta sauce, vegan pasta sauce, vegan pizza sauce, pizza sauce

Trader Joe's, vegan cheese, vegan shreds, mozzarella, vegan mozzarella, vegan pizza, onion pizza, mushroom pizza, homemade pizza, garlic pizza, uncooked whole wheat pizza crust

Trader Joe's, vegan cheese, vegan shreds, mozzarella, vegan mozzarella, vegan pizza, onion pizza, mushroom pizza, homemade pizza, garlic pizza, whole wheat pizza crust

Well, you can expect me to go on about the beer I had with dinner come Wednesday, on what may be my favorite day of the week, Beer Wednesday. See you then!

~ by VegansHusband on December 16, 2012.

12 Responses to “Whatcha Eatin’? Beer and Pizza”

  1. thanks for the review! I am always a bit hesitant to try new vegan cheese until I see positive reviews. Some vegan cheese is pretty good but when it is bad, it is really bad. 🙂

    • I totally agree. To be honest, so far no other vegan cheese is as good as Teese, but Galazy Natural’s is close, and this is probably about comparable to Daiya. A little better flavor, but a little more liquidy in texture. If you like one, you’ll probably like the other.

      And thanks for stopping by!

  2. Mmmm! Pizza! Definitely the favorite of Nick and myself. Nick and I actually stopped putting “cheese” on our pizza. We were using Daiya, but then realized we didn’t really even need it. Which is funny because we LOVED cheese before becoming vegans! But I wasn’t aware that TJ’s even had vegan cheese shreds. Thanks for the review!

    And I’m totally with you on Teese. That stuff is AMAZING.

  3. Hold the phone, I didn’t know TJ’s did a vegan mozzarella. Better than Daiya you say? I need to try it!

    • It’s good, not great. I’m not a huge fan of Daiya, but this was. . . better. I still haven’t made your moxzarella, but only because I’m a total slacker. Maybe over Christmas break. . .

      • Hey, even I buy fake vegan cheez once in a while for convenience. I can’t be the vegan Martha Stewart all the time 😉

      • I’m not sure I believe that. . .

        Admit it, you make all of your own Christmas presents, don’t you?

      • The whole truth: I bough Joe Joe’s for all my neighbors this year. I made all homemade treats and soaps last year. This year I’m too worn out.

        Do you have a dog?

      • We tore up a box of Joe-Joe’s a few weeks ago. It was scary. . .

        Nope, we’re cat people, but I saw that post of yours. Adorable. We have been talking abut getting a dog though, and if/when we do, I’ll definitely be coming to you for suggestions on how to raise him or her vegan.

      • It’s a new concept for me, I thought for sure dogs were obligate carnivores. But Lucky is literally jumping through hoops for this new vegan food. Crazy.

        Those Joe Joe’s are terribly addictive. I made myself sick the first box we opened. I don’t know if I can look at them the same :/

  4. […] week past Sunday, I posted about beer and pizza, and this Flying Fish Exit 4 (NOT the exit I grew up at) is the beer to that […]

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

