Vegan Christmas to all…

Twas the weekend before Christmas, and all through the house

Every animal was safe, including each mouse.

Well, to be honest, a most in my house would be many things, but I don’t think safe is on that list. The Great White (and gray) Hunter might have a different thing to say about that…

Cat, sleeping cat, gray and white cat, cute, streteched out, lazy cat

Yeah, he’s a monster. Just don’t tell him. . .

Friday night the Blonde and I went to dinner at a pair of friends’ house. Dinner was wonderful, courtesy of Kristen, aka The High Impact Vegan, and the company was, well, unparalleled.

Dinner was fresh bruschetta, pesto linguini,stuffed peppers, and for dessert, our hostess-with-the-mostess made chocolate lava cakes. Yeah, it was pretty darn good.

They also overdid it giving us presents. While the Blonde and Kristen have a work relationship as well as a personal relationship, I guess she felt the need to spoil us. . .

Tofu, Tofu Xpress, tofu press, vegan, pressed tofu

Without going into details, suffice it to say that we were thrilled by their generosity, and not to put too fine a point on it, dinner last night included two of the gifts that we got: a Tofu Xpress that was a gift for both of us, and one of a set of beer glasses that was a gift to me. I was thrilled, and you’ll get to see the pilsner glass with an IPA in it this coming Wednesday (never fear).

The Tofu Xpress tofu press is something that we’ve been looking at for some time, and just never really managed to put the time into buying. Our old mode of pressing tofu was to wrap it in a tea-towel, and place our cast-iron skillet on top of it. We would then place something heavy in the skillet, and hope that everything stayed balanced over the next few hours. It usually worked really well, with the occasional  decision to use the tofu crumbled, rather than sliced or cubed.

Now, well, now we no longer have to go down that route. In stead, we plopped the block into the press, clicked the lid in place, and waited until we were ready to start cooking. I also quartered the tofu before marinating it in just a really simple soy sauce, sesame oil, and garlic mix. I threw the tofu into our convection oven for 45 minutes, basted it with the leftover marinade, and let it cook up firm and fresh. I tossed some green beans with some soy and garlic as well, and ta-da!, a simple, flavorful, delicious dinner.

Tofu, Tofu Xpress, tofu press, vegan, pressed tofu, marinade, marinated tofu, soy sauce,

Tofu, Tofu Xpress, tofu press, vegan, pressed tofu, marinade, marinated tofu, soy sauce, baked tofu, blackened tofu, green beans

All of that aside, because today this isn’t really about the food, I wanted to take a moment to wish everyone who reads this a Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, Happy Hanukkah, or whatever holiday you may celebrate. If you don’t celebrate any, then I hope you just have a really good Tuesday this week.

See, this time of year I often go days on end without seeing the sun, and I stretch out my days into one long, dark, terrible week of misery. I hate my job, the students are difficult, and over time, I let the season get to me. That’s why I really appreciate what this season is supposed to mean. It’s supposed to be a bright spot in the middle of a time of darkness. You know, the light at the end of the proverbial tunnel. (The light I think I see before this is really just a train I have to dodge).

I used to hate the holiday season, because of what it has become: A season of consumerism over all, where if you didn’t have the best thing, you didn’t have anything. I was even pretty good at getting stuck in that vicious cycle myself, always having to out-do what I bought last year. I took the Blonde to finally open my eyes, and for that, among a million other reasons, I love her deeply. I guess I just want to thank all of you for being here for my first vegan Christmas, and to hope each of you a happy holiday, regardless of which one you celebrate. I hope your coming year is one filled with goodness, beauty, peace, and life, and I hope that all of the negativity that is spewing out all over the world passes over all of you.

Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, and Happy New Year!

~ by VegansHusband on December 23, 2012.

5 Responses to “Vegan Christmas to all…”

  1. I really look forward to your posts . . . especially Beer Wednesdays, which I can share with my grown omni son. He thinks veganism is a curse, or something, but says to keep on forwarding your beer posts! He also eats plant-based pretty much when he visits (he arrives tomorrow) and actually loves our food (crazy?! Crazy good!). Have a wonderful time off from “the job” and keep sampling the good beer!

    • Well thank you for the kind words. Tell your son not to worry, I promise to keep drinking! As for him enjoying the beers that I recommend and eating plant-based when he’s with you, well, hours vegan good is just good food, right?

      Give him some really good food this holiday season, and little by little we’ll show him that no animals have to be hurt for him to eat well.

  2. Your cat is giving me the evil eye…. 😉 I got the tofu xpress for Christmas as well. It’s rocking my world!!!

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

