Beer Wednesday – Flying Fish Exit 16

Ahhhh… Do you hear that?

It’s the planes flying overhead as you drive through Newark.

See that?

That’s Giants Stadium, home of both the New York Giants and the New York Jets.

Exit 16 on the NJ Turnpike had always heralded home for me when coming from the South. As I am an unofficial Southerner now (Maryland is south of the Mason-Dixon Line) I get to travel north on a semi-regular basis, so seeing exit 16 actually matters now.

It means I’m pretty close to seeing my folks.

Like I said last week, once I discoverEd that Flying Fish had a whole series devoted to the various exits on the NJ Turnpike, I had to dive right in, and I went with as far north as I could… Exit 16.

Enough back story, to the beer!

image

image

Flying Fish’s Exit 16 is their wild rice double IPA, and the different hops really shine through. Hopped with five different hops, and then dry-hopped, this is a deliciuos, flavorful IPA, without any of the mouth-ouckering bitterness that is so possible in a heavily hopped beer, be it ale or lager.

Not to say that the brightness and almost-bitterness of the hops don’t shine, because they do. Wow, do they.
The nose of this beer was bright, with all of the citrus you’d expext from an IPA. The color was a little darker than I expected, but I assume this is thanks to the wild rice.

On the glass, the lacing was a little thin, as was the head, but neither was offensively so.

The taste though, totally made up for anything that was missing in the appearance.

Look, I love the hoppiness of a good IPA, and there is very little about a beer that is hopped multiple times that I can complain about, but this beer takes it to another level. The hops really shine through as you drink, both in the nose and in the forward flavor. Nothing to miss here as far as hops go.

Don’t get me wrong, they east more to those beer than hops, but not a whole lot more. The flavor wasn’t flat our one-dimensional, but it was very forward.

Delicious? Yes.

Inspiring? Maybe.

Worth buying a second time? Damn straight.

~ by VegansHusband on December 26, 2012.

One Response to “Beer Wednesday – Flying Fish Exit 16”

  1. […] never went too far out of my way to try many different beers. Now, as you can tell by my regular Wednesday posts, I go way out of my way to try different […]

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

