Happy Holidays

Hey all. I’m happy to be addressing you from the great state of New Jersey.

New Jersey, Trenton, Newark, The Garden State, NJ Vegan, New Jersey Vegan, plant based NJ

As I write this, Christmas had come and gone, and I am anxiously awaiting New Years Eve. With little in the way of plans for the holiday, and much appreciation for the blessings of the past year, I wanted to briefly tell some of the things that I am grateful for in the past year, and that I hope continue to inspire me on 2013.

First, I am thankful for my wife. Without her I wouldn’t be vegan. Knowing what I know about the wo9rld that animals live, and die, in, well, I just can’t imagine knowing what I know about that and still contributing to it.

I am thankful for my mother. She is learning, and trying to be very supportive of our decision to be vegan.

She tries. . . Miso Soup, tofu, chinese food, non-vegan miso soup

and fails. . . Powered Fish, miso soup, ingredients, asian food, non-vegan soup

but thankfully, she tries again. vegan, chili, sweet potato chili, sweet potato, vegan chili, rice in chili, good vegan chili, delicious vegan chili, chili powder

I appreciate all of the support that is available to new and aspiring vegans. On Twitter and Facebook, across Instagram and Pinterest, there’s just so many damn vegans out there! From Our Hen House, to JL Goes Vegan, to Jason and the Veganauts and his amazing, non-judgmental, Facebook group, there is just so much out there to help people continue the transition away from meat and towards plants.

Jason, veganauts, jason and the veganauts, golden fleece, vegan golden fleece, how I lost 150 pounds blog, one green planet writer

I am thankful for my friends. Especially the guy friends I have that don’t give me too hard a time about being vegan. Sure, they pick a little, but for the most part its all in good fun, and no one gives me more than the obligatory ribbing (Them: “We have one vegan in our party, but we’ll just chain him to the table and throw vegetables at him from across the room.” Me: “Meh. I like veggies.”)

I love Barnivore. Before I decided to stop eating animal products, I had no idea about the amount of stuff used in beer and wine production. I mean, fish bones? Fish bladders? Egg whites? Ewwww. I also never went too far out of my way to try many different beers. Now, as you can tell by my regular Wednesday posts, I go way out of my way to try different beers.

I appreciate all of the quality restaurants that we eat at, not all of which are fully vegan, but all of which have vegan options for us. The list of our regulars is short: Great Sage, Mango Grove, The Rutherford Pancake House, Sweet Avenue Bake Shop (Not technically a restaurant, but still amazing desserts). Great Sage, Vegan restaurant, vegan food, vegan Maryland, Organic Green Cuisine, Conscience Corner, clarksville MD, Clarksville vegan, vegan

and last, but by no means least, I am thankful for all of you. It may not seem like you make a difference when all you do is show up and read, but I recognize that you are the real reason that I show up. Now I may not be a blogging powerhouse like Somer Vedge, Gena Hamshaw or Erin Red, but I’m patient, and I know that it really is just a matter of time before I take over the world. . .

Pink and the Brain, try and take over the world, vegan mice

ummm, I mean, before I become really popular. . . And on that mildly embarrassing (and completely honest) note, I’ll run off, and hope that no one noticed. . .

Oh yeah, and, uh, Happy New Year!

~ by VegansHusband on December 29, 2012.

5 Responses to “Happy Holidays”

  1. So much to be thankful for! I love that you have support from your family and friends. Happy new year!

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

