Beer Wednesday – Fireside Chat

Happy Beer Wednesday, and Happy New Year!

I considered reviewing Miller High Life in celebration of New Year’s Eve (it is the “champagne of beers,” after all), but after looking on Barnivore, I couldn’t determine if it was vegan or not.

I also came to my senses, I mean, is anyone deliberately drinking High Life anymore? I drank it when I was in Milwaukee, but I think that it can be excused in Wisconsin, right?

Either way, I swung by our friendly neighborhood liquor store and picked up a can of what I fully expected to love, 21st Amendment’s spiced ale, Fireside Chat.

Craft beer, Fireside chat, FDR, FDR beer, 21st Amendment, 21st Amendment brewery, 21st amendment beer, Fireside chat, Fireside chat spiced ale, spiced ale, can ale, beer can

I was expecting something warming, with a strong alcohol taste, but still smooth and maybe sweetly spiced, like FDR’s radio addresses themselves.

The pour was beautiful, with a great thick, rich foam on it, and as I drank, the lacing was wonderful on the glass. (The speciality porter glass courtesy of my Christmas present from Jason. I’m putting them to good use!)

Craft beer, Fireside chat, FDR, FDR beer, 21st Amendment, 21st Amendment brewery, 21st amendment beer, Fireside chat, Fireside chat spiced ale, spiced ale, can ale, beer can

The beer itself,however, was a little disappointing. While it did have some of that richness I was looking for, I was hoping, from the spice and the color, for something richer. I know, I know, it’s an ale, not a porter, but I just wanted this beer to be a porter.

So taking that into account, Fireside Chat is very good. The richness of the ale was there, but it was still a bit thinner than I had wanted it to be. I love that the can makes it very clear that it is a soft ale (just 45 IBUs), and it totally had the warming that I was hoping for (7.9% ABV).

Overall, I guess I just wanted this beer to be richer and thicker. Whining aside, next time I want a rich, thbick porter, I’ll get a porter, and the next time I want a full-flavored, delicious winter ale, I’ll go digging into my local liquor store and see if they happen to have a can of Fireside Chat sitting in the cooler.

My rating? 3.5/5

Happy New Year, and here’s hoping that 2013 is a great year for everyone!

~ by VegansHusband on January 2, 2013.

2 Responses to “Beer Wednesday – Fireside Chat”

  1. Always looking for a new beverage!

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

