Whatcha Eatin’? Tofurkey Today!

What to do, what to do?

I eat pretty much the same thing every day for lunch: peanut (or other nut) butter and jelly sandwich, with a piece of fruit, usually an apple. Every day.

What do I miss about lunch? Well, not much. I’ve been eating the same sandwich almost every week for, well, at least seven years, if not longer. I really like peanut butter and, to be honest, if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

This past week, however, my current nut butter, pecan, was feeling a little, well, thin. I was in the mood for something a little different, and the blonde had picked up some Tofurkey slices, and I was fairly well impressed.

Tofurkey Slices, tofurkey, vegan turkey, seitan, oven roasted tofurkey, fake turkey, vegetarian turkey

The seitan was pretty firm, nicely flavored, and while it wasn’t turkey, I was glad for the flavor reminiscent of my childhood. Some Vegenaise and vegan cheese sliced up on the sandwich, all piled high on some Ezekiel sprouted grain bread, and well, it was like I was a kid again. All I needed was some soup.

Tofurkey Slices, tofurkey, vegan turkey, seitan, oven roasted tofurkey, fake turkey, vegetarian turkey, vegan sandwich, tofurkey sandwich, vegenaise, ezekiel, sprouted grain bread, whoel wheat bread, vegan cheddar cheese, vegan chese, vegan meat, seitan sandwich

Speaking of soup, whenever I have a sandwich at home that isn’t peanut butter and jelly, I think of old school Campbell’s Pepper Pot soup. I remember eating this when I was a kid, loving the saltiness and spice, but I haven’t been able to find it for years. I have no idea if it’s vegan, although judging by the recipes that I found that call for tripe (ick) it isn’t. So now that it’s fully winter, maybe I’ll take a weekend and make a big ol’ pot of vegan pepper pot soup.

If not, any ideas where I might find this super-salty delicacy?

 

Campbells soup, soup, pepper pot soup

Anybody know if this is vegan?

~ by VegansHusband on January 6, 2013.

One Response to “Whatcha Eatin’? Tofurkey Today!”

  1. Never heard of the pepper pot soup… I was into the tomato one as a kid, now I can’t imagine eating a can of campbells. My kids love the tofurky. My youngest can’t pronounce it and calls it churky. Yup, it’s time for a PB&J break.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

