Beer Wednesday – Ommegang XV

Happy Beer Wednesday! This week, I’m finally getting around to posting a review of a beer that the Blonde got me for my vegiversary, Brewery Ommegang XV.

Brewery Ommegang XV, Brewery Ommegang, Brewery Ommegang Fifteen, Fifteenth Anniversary, 15th anniversary, New York Beer, Cooperstown beer, Cooperstown brewery, belgian dark ale, trappist style ale, Belgian trappist, Belgian trappist style dark ale, trappist style dark ale, belgian dark ale

This limited release trappist-style dark ale was delicious. At 9.6%ABV, it could have been dangerously strong, and while I did put down the whole 750 ml, I never felt like it was too strong.

My first inclination was that I wasn’t wild about it. I like a good bit of hops in my ales, and this has a barley-and-malt sweetness that surprised me at first. I had to stop and take another look at my glass, and completely reassess what I was drinking.

My second taste, however, is where my mind was acceptably blown. The depth of flavor, combined with the effervescence (yup, I said it) absolutely stunned me. The nose, once I waited for it to develop, was sweet, with smoky and coffee hints, and the flavor was rich and smooth, but never left a film, the way some malty beers can.

Brewery Ommegang XV, Brewery Ommegang, Brewery Ommegang Fifteen, Fifteenth Anniversary, 15th anniversary, New York Beer, Cooperstown beer, Cooperstown brewery, belgian dark ale, trappist style ale, Belgian trappist, Belgian trappist style dark ale, trappist style dark ale, belgian dark ale

Look, Brewery Ommegang is my favorite brewery on the planet, and si I know full well that I have a habit of gushing about their beers. (like here) I even give their beer as gifts! But all of that aside, if they didn’t make great beer, I wouldn’t love it so much.

So, with that said, I’m happy to give Brewery Ommegang’s Fifteenth Anniversary Ale my very first 5/5.

Cheers to 15 years of great beer, and at least 15 more!

~ by VegansHusband on March 13, 2013.

4 Responses to “Beer Wednesday – Ommegang XV”

  1. I love Ommegang!

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

