Beer Wednesday – Secret Spot

Happy Beer Wednesday!

This week, I’m happy to review Evolution Brewing Company’s winter ale, Secret Spot.

Secret Spot, Winter Beer, Winter Ale, Evolution Brewing, Evolution Craft Beer, Evolution Craft Brewing, Craft Brew, Craft Brewing, Craft beer, Craft Ale, vegan beer, vegan ale, vegan winter ale, beer with no isinglass, without isinglass, snowboard beer, snowboard label

First, I’ll admit, I’m not usually a fan of winter ales. I find that the allure of using winter spices is just too tempting for most brewers to pass up, and so they overdo it.

I way pretty happy to find that Secret Spot didn’t do that.

There was still a hint of the spice and flavor that makes winter special, but t wasn’t overpowering. I wasn’t thrilled with the mouth-feel of the beer, as it seemed a little thin for me, and I would have liked the beer a bit richer for a winter ale, but over all it was fine. The maltiness is the forward flavor, with a little bit of hoppiness at the finish, but not really enough for me. I think the hops seemed like an after-thought, and not part of the original intention.

In general, a pretty good ale, if winter is your preferred beer season (mine is summer), but not exceptional. I’d give it a 3/5. Worth drinking, but not too often.

~ by VegansHusband on March 27, 2013.

7 Responses to “Beer Wednesday – Secret Spot”

  1. Excellent, you’re taking the hits for me now. 🙂 I’ve got a bottle of Ommegang Abbey Ale at home waiting for me based on your suggestions. It’ll have to wait until I get back from Brazil and their crazy sweet, low hops beers.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

