Vegan pizza in Philly

I miss pizza. There, I said it. I miss pizza.

I don’t miss pizza more now that I did  when i was a vegetarian, or for that matter, because I am of the mind that there is no good pizza in Maryland. In fact, if you ask anyone who grew up in the New York metro area, then yeah, there is no good pizza in Maryland. Or if there is, it’s hidden somewhere.

Enter Blackbird Pizzeria in Philadelphia.

Blackbird Pizza, Blackbird pizzeria, Blackbird vegan, vegan pizza, vegan pizza philly, vegan pizza Philiadelphia,Philly pizza, Philly vegan, Philly vegan pizza, Philiadelphia pizza, Philiadelphia  vegan, Philiadelphia vegan pizza,

Now, believe me, I don’t like saying anything positive about Philly. I hate the Flyers, I hate the Phillies, and I hate Eagles fans (they booed Santa, for Pete’s sake!), but they have a decent brewery in Victory, and well, they have what may be the best vegan pizzeria on the planet.

We started with French fries, mostly because I was in the mood for fries. I hadn’t had good French fries in quite some time, and figured that if I were going to eat, I may as well go the whole nine yards.

Blackbird Pizza, Blackbird pizzeria, Blackbird vegan, vegan pizza, vegan pizza philly, vegan pizza Philiadelphia,Philly pizza, Philly vegan, Philly vegan pizza, Philiadelphia pizza, Philiadelphia  vegan, Philiadelphia vegan pizza, vegan french fries, french fries, blackbird french fries, philly french fries, Philiadelphia french fries

I’d like to point out the Blonde’s iPhone in the background as a benchmark for the small order of fries.

For the pizza, we decided to go with  the “Popeye,” a pizza of spinach (naturally), olive oil, pumpkin seed pesto, green olives, roasted garlic, and crispy shiitake mushrooms, all on a whole wheat crust.

Blackbird Pizza, Blackbird pizzeria, Blackbird vegan, vegan pizza, vegan pizza philly, vegan pizza Philiadelphia,Philly pizza, Philly vegan, Philly vegan pizza, Philiadelphia pizza, Philiadelphia  vegan, Philiadelphia vegan pizza, Blackbird Popeye, spinach pizza, vegan spinach pizza, vegan Popeye pizza, Popeye pizza

Blackbird Pizza, Blackbird pizzeria, Blackbird vegan, vegan pizza, vegan pizza philly, vegan pizza Philiadelphia,Philly pizza, Philly vegan, Philly vegan pizza, Philiadelphia pizza, Philiadelphia  vegan, Philiadelphia vegan pizza, Blackbird Popeye, spinach pizza, vegan spinach pizza, vegan Popeye pizza, Popeye pizza

To say that it was a traditional pizza, clearly, would be unfair and untrue. It was, however, the best not-pizza I’ve ever had. (Not-pizza – and non-traditional pizza, such as Buffalo wing or Caesar salad) I’ve had a few pieces of not-pizza in my day, and I can say with some certainty that this Popeye pizza from Blackbird was awesome. The copious amounts of garlic were delicious, and thank goodness both the Blonde and I had them, because I imagine the full head of garlic that we ate made us the most popular vegans on the block!

Likewise, the mushrooms were crispy, with a texture that reminded me of fried calamari (which means that now I have to try that idea) and the pumpkin seed pesto was bright, fresh, and really herbaceous and delicious.

My only complaint, and I did have one, was that the cornmeal that the crust sat on was too present. I occasionally felt myself biting down on the crust, which was cooked perfectly, and finding it hard, until I popped through the piece of cornmeal.

I know, I know, I’m whining about one tiny little thing, but when there is just about nothing left to keep somethign from near perfection, what else can I do?

As it is, we may be headed back up to Philly with friends next month for a weekend, and we’ll definitely be stopping at blackbird again for vegan pizza. What about you, though? What foods do you miss, and how do you get aroudn it or make up for that?

f

~ by VegansHusband on April 1, 2013.

4 Responses to “Vegan pizza in Philly”

  1. I missed pizza for so long here in Boston too. Just moved and found Flying Saucer Pizza in Salem helped but I also started making my own at home and it’s been a HUGE hit with my omnivore husband. Check it out in my blog for those stay at home nights! Oh and no cornmeal to crunch through (which I like but don’t need in these recipes).

  2. Whoa. Those frrench fries. I mean, the pizza looks amazing, but really?! THOSE FRIES. Yum. Can you tell they’re my weakness??

  3. Glad you liked Blackbird, it is a hidden gem in Philly. I need to back there soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

