Beer Wednesday – Bête Blanche

Happy Beer Wednesday!

This week, I stumbled across a Belgian (surprise!) Tripel by Elysian Brewing Company, Bête Blanche.

Elysian Brewing Company is based in Seattle, Washington, founded in 1995, and I’ve had a few of their beers. In general, they’re very, very good.

I didn’t just happen across their Bête Blanche today, however. A friend of mine introduced me to it a few weeks ago at the curling club, and I fell in love almost immediately. Naturally.

When I happened across a bottle of it at our friendly neighborhood beer and wine emporium (no, seriously, this place is huge), I decided to grab it. I knew it was good, and I would rather tell people what to drink than what not to.

image

image

Elysian’s Bête Blanche is smooth, with a clean bright maltiness and a smooth hoppiness, but without much citrus or bitterness in the finish.

It had a spiciness, but not a bite, forward on the tongue (maybe pepper? clove? I’m not sure). In fact, it may have been a bit sweeter than some of the other tripels that I’ve had, but I really liked it. At at 7.5% ABV, it was a bit tamer than some others as well.

Tame enough that if I had bought a 22 oz., I might have been in trouble later on!

Bête Blanche is a seasonal release, though, and I am really excited for the chance to drink more of these fresh, bright summery beers as the weather warms up. You can expect a few more IPAs and ESBs as the weather gets nicer and nicer, but what types are you favorites? I’ll look for styles that appeal to you more and more, and I’ll try to broaden my palate as well!

~ by VegansHusband on April 10, 2013.

One Response to “Beer Wednesday – Bête Blanche”

  1. I’m looking forward to the IPA reviews. I finally tried my first Ommegang brew the other day. You’re correct that it was a solid beer, really makes me intrigued to try the Three Philosophers.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

