Beer Wednesday – Hop Notch

Happy Beer Wednesday!

This week, I’m quite happy to have taken my friendly, neighborhood liquor store owner’s advice, and tried Uinta’s IPA, Hop Notch.

Hop Notch , my first IPA of the year, was a terrific choice. I had been considering Flying Dog’s Belgian IPA, Raging Bitch, but the owner of the liquor store convinced me to try something new.

You may recall the last Uinta beer I reviewed, their Belgian Blonde Monkshine, but this is completely different.

The nose is bright, and full of citrus and hops, which is exactly what the beer itself promised.

Without much of the bitterness that can be so characteristic of many IPAs, Hop Notch was light, but not thin, and full of flavor. First some grapefruit, followed by spice and lemon, it had a tartness that was neither sour nor bitter. The finish was clean, and the lacing in my glass was great.

Uinta, Hop Notch, IPA, Utah beer, utah IPA, Utah, ale, ale, vegan ale, vegan ipa, vegan beer, vegan utah, Hop Notch, hop notch vegan,

I know IPAs can be a little one-note, this may have threatened to fall a little flat, but ice cold ona a hot day, I don’t see many beers beating this one out at all. I think I’d call this a 3.5/5 most of the time, but I’ll toss one in the back of my fridge and save it for the dog days.

You never know, I may change my mind…

 

~ by VegansHusband on April 17, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

