Whatcha’ Eatin’? – Rip’s Big Bowl

Are you familiar with the Engine 2 Diet? This diet is one that limits or eliminates oils and processed foods in favor of a whoel foods, plat-based diet. It’s also the one promoted by Rip Esselstyn, son of Dr, Caldwell Esselstyn.

Well, after his cook book and remarkable diet, Rip Esselstyn (and friends) released a line of food products including cereal, hummus, almond milk and crackers. AS of today, I’ve had the hummus and it was, well hummus. This post, however, is dedicated to one of the versions of the cereal, Rip’s Big Bowl, Banana Walnut.

Rip's big Bowl, Rip's big Bowl Banana Walnut, Banana Walnut, Engine 2, Engine 2 diet, Engine Two, Engine Two Diet, Engine 2 diet cereal, Engine 2 cereal, Engine two cereal, Engine two diet cereal,

This cereal is a filling, hearty bowl of breakfast, based in part on the 7 grams of fiber and 7 grams of protein in each 55 gram serving, that looks a bit like muesli, but is nowhere near as tasteless as that bowl of twigs and tree bark.

Rip's big Bowl, Rip's big Bowl Banana Walnut, Banana Walnut, Engine 2, Engine 2 diet, Engine Two, Engine Two Diet, Engine 2 diet cereal, Engine 2 cereal, Engine two cereal, Engine two diet cereal, nutritional facts

The bowl of cereal, with its dried bananas and wheat squares filled me up fully. My complaints about it were few and far between, but as I eat cereal every morning before school, I feel like I have a pretty good idea of what makes a filling breakfast. Without any weird chemicals (which i don’t have in my cereal anyway anymore) and with very little sugar, just 3 grams, I was really pretty happy with the look and taste of this cereal.

With the other two flavors being “Original” and “Triple Berry Walnut,” I can only expect that this is the best of the three, but if dehydrated berries are your thing, I would suggest you try that one.

Rip's big Bowl, Rip's big Bowl Banana Walnut, Banana Walnut, Engine 2, Engine 2 diet, Engine Two, Engine Two Diet, Engine 2 diet cereal, Engine 2 cereal, Engine two cereal, Engine two diet cereal,

Rip's big Bowl, Rip's big Bowl Banana Walnut, Banana Walnut, Engine 2, Engine 2 diet, Engine Two, Engine Two Diet, Engine 2 diet cereal, Engine 2 cereal, Engine two cereal, Engine two diet cereal,

Currently only for sale at Whole Foods, this line of plant-strong products is dangerously close to the perfect balance between taste and health. We don’t do much with crispbread, and when we want hummus, we often make our own, but I would certainly buy this cereal again, and I’ll take a look for their almond milk the next time we’re in a Whole Foods doing our grocery shopping.

~ by VegansHusband on April 22, 2013.

3 Responses to “Whatcha’ Eatin’? – Rip’s Big Bowl”

  1. Sounds pretty good, I’d be game for giving it a go. My only problem with that cereal and any cereal for that matter is the serving size. I can’t say that I’ve ever had a half a cup of cereal equal something that I would consider an actual serving. So its so deceptive. Not that I think having a cup or so of this would be any issue, but anyway, it just irks me.

    • I’ll her honest, since the Blonde started using Weight Watchers a million years ago, I’ve gotten in the habit of weighing everything, so when a serving is 55 grams, I just eat it, but anything less than that, I add a banana.

  2. I haven’t seen the cereals yet – but have tried the Ancient Grain and Brown Rice (2 different products) tortillas. Both were quite good and for some reason I less guilty eating them than I do whole wheat tortillas. One downside is they don’t heat well. The brown rice version actually starts peeling when heated – a bit strange.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

