Whatcha’ Eatin’? – Chipotle Vegetarian Burrito

Today, the Blonde abandoned me to spend the evening with her sister, her husband, and their kids. When she bailed on me, and sent me home, weeping and sobbing (ok, ok, I listened to the Mets game the whole way home) I decided to get dinner at Chipotle. Now, I know that it’s a disappointment that they cook their pinto beans with bacon, but at least they have the real began options on their menu. And to be honest, I prefer black beans to pinto beans anyway (they’re a superfood, dontcha’ know?).

To double check, I jumped on line on my phone and double-checked Compassionate Action for Animals to see what the options were for vegans. I was 90% sure that the pinto beans were cooked with bacon, but I wanted to be 100% sure.
Chipotle, Chipotle burrito, burrito, vegetarian burrito, vegan burrito, chipotle vegan burrito, chipotle vegetarian burrito, fajita burrito, chipotle fajita burrito, chipotle menu

The line, as always, was ridiculous, but it moves quickly. A vegetarian burrito, with fajita peppers, cilantro-lime rice, corn, tomato, and hot salsa, and just a little guacamole (and by little, I meant like 2 tablespoons, while they meant like a half-cup. . .).

Chipotle, Chipotle burrito, burrito, vegetarian burrito, vegan burrito, chipotle vegan burrito, chipotle vegetarian burrito, fajita burrito, chipotle fajita burrito

If you’ve eaten at Chipotle, then you know that their mission is to find “the very best ingredients raised with respect for the animals, the environment, and the farmers.”

To achieve this respect, they also have the following on their “Special Diet Information” page:

Vegan Options

You should avoid our pinto beans (they are cooked with a small amount of bacon), meats (obviously), cheese, sour cream, and chipotle-honey vinaigrette.

Vegetarian Options

You should avoid our pinto beans (they are cooked with a small amount of bacon) and our meats. If you do eat dairy, our cheese is made with a vegetable-based rennet, and our sour cream is 100% cultured cream.

While this is appreciated, I do wish that they had more vegan options, and they are opening up more options, disappointingly in Northern California with vegan sofritas.

In a pinch, for $6:75, I got a very solid dinner, pretty healthful, and to be honest, I easily could have been two meals if I had been making it myself. I really like their guacamole and the chunks of avocado that were in it. The salsas are fresh, bright, and flavorful, and I would go with the cilantro-lime rice over white rice every day and twice on Sunday. As far as fast food goes, until Veggie-Grill opens a restaurant in Maryland, Chipotle is a good option for any price point, and for a full range, of families, from couples, to full groups with kids.

Chipotle, Chipotle burrito, burrito, vegetarian burrito, vegan burrito, chipotle vegan burrito, chipotle vegetarian burrito, fajita burrito, chipotle fajita burrito, guacamole, cilantro line rice

Chipotle, Chipotle burrito, burrito, vegetarian burrito, vegan burrito, chipotle vegan burrito, chipotle vegetarian burrito, fajita burrito, chipotle fajita burrito, guacamole, cilantro line rice

Enjoy!

~ by VegansHusband on April 29, 2013.

5 Responses to “Whatcha’ Eatin’? – Chipotle Vegetarian Burrito”

  1. I love me some Chipotle. I almost have to–it is a Colorado company after all. Every Friday the BF and I pick up Chipotle and beer to kick off the weekend. On the menus here they note that the pinto beans are cooked with pork, which is nice. I’m kind of disappointed though; they have introduced sofritos (marinated tofu) as an option in some cities in California. I really would have thought that a Colorado company would try that here first, especially since it’s a very veg-friendly state. But apparently it’s been very successful and hopefully we’ll all get to try it soon.

    • Yeah, I’m pretty anxious for the tofu sofritas to get to teh East Coast. . . I can’t complain though, because Beyond Meat chicken is made here in Maryland, so we had access to it before it was even released at Whole Foods in California.

      Soon. . .

  2. […] Lunch was a better meal, however, as we were right across the street from the Reading Terminal Market. The Market is huge, so there were a number of options available to me. I opened with Thai food, and closed with a huge salad. In between, I headed down to a nearby Chipotle, as I know every Chipotle has vegan options. […]

  3. […] makes appears to be vegetarian, and I’m cool with that, especially since the chain has veg-friendly black beans, and a vegetarian burrito gets you free […]

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

