Virtual Vegan Potluck: Homestyle Sausage and Peppers

Happy VVP!

Vegan, potluck, virtual vegan potluck, vegan food, vegan main dish

I cannot tell you how torn I was about what to make for the 3rd semi-annual Virtual Vegan Potluck. I stared at the Blonde and begged her to think for me (she refused), I stared at our ingredients, and had no idea what to make. First, I thought of pizza, because, hey, who doesn’t love pizza? (I scrapped that because of Somer over at Vedged Out and her homemade pizza. . .) Then I thought that I could make tacos, because, well, I love Mexican food. (I opted against these, because, well, I still can’t get the tortillas right without a tortilla press, although The Bankrupt Vegan doesn’t seem to have that problem.) Finally, I remembered my Italian seitan sausages, and how popular they’ve been.

“Aha!” I thought, “This is somewhere that I can show off how I make my seitan. . . again. . . and maybe make some sausage and peppers (a dish I’ve been craving since before I went vegan).

True blue Italians might refer to this dish as “peppers and onions,” but when I was a kid, I didn’t like onions, so we called it “sausage and peppers”in the hopes that I would be fooled.  It worked.

The main ingredients here are, in case you weren’t expecting it, Italian sausage, bell peppers, and onions.

Seitan, seitan sausage, bell peppers, yellow peppers, red bell peppers, peppers and onions, sausage and peppers, italian food, vegan italian, vegan sausage and peppers, vegan peppers and onions

Seitan, seitan sausage, bell peppers, yellow peppers, red bell peppers, peppers and onions, sausage and peppers, italian food, vegan italian, vegan sausage and peppers, vegan peppers and onions

To make the seitan sausages, follow my recipe here or here and just change the ingredients as follows:

paprika – replace with 1/4 tsp. onion powder or onion flakes

mustard seed – replace with 3-6 garlic cloves, minced

clove – omit

molasses – omit

Worcestershire sauce – replace with 1Tbsp. balsamic vinegar

Dijon or brown mustard – omit

Then just roll the seitan dough into sausage sized pieces, wrap, and steam (not boil) the seitan in just water or vegetable broth.

Seitan, seitan sausage, bell peppers, yellow peppers, red bell peppers, peppers and onions, sausage and peppers, italian food, vegan italian, vegan sausage and peppers, vegan peppers and onions, pressure cooker, pressure cooker sausage, pressure cooker seitan, pressure cooker seitan sausage

Once you have your sausage, the rest is pretty easy. Saute your onions, along with two or three crushed cloves of garlic in a heavy pan.

Seitan, seitan sausage, bell peppers, yellow peppers, red bell peppers, peppers and onions, sausage and peppers, italian food, vegan italian, vegan sausage and peppers, vegan peppers and onions

Seitan, seitan sausage, bell peppers, yellow peppers, red bell peppers, peppers and onions, sausage and peppers, italian food, vegan italian, vegan sausage and peppers, vegan peppers and onions

I use my cast iron, but whatever works for you.

Once your onions are starting to soften, add the strips of peppers, and cook them together until they start to soften. Then add the sausage, letting them heat up in the pan. You can slice the sausage, or slit them down the middle, and then serve them either in a bun, like a hot dog, or over pasta, like a very thick sauce.

Seitan, seitan sausage, bell peppers, yellow peppers, red bell peppers, peppers and onions, sausage and peppers, italian food, vegan italian, vegan sausage and peppers, vegan peppers and onions, ciabatta role, wine, cabernet

Feel free to play with how much you heat the sausage, or, if you can time it, just cook the sausage so that you just finish it with the veggies, or full-on cook it, getting it to absorb some of the juices from the peppers. If you like your sausage and peppers hotter, add some crushed red pepper to the pan as you are preparing the veggies.

Enjoy!

This is the link to “The Vegan Green,” the post before mine in the VVP. If you started here, check this one out too!

This is the link to “the little foxes,” the post after mine in the VVP. If you started here, check this one out too!

~ by VegansHusband on May 11, 2013.

31 Responses to “Virtual Vegan Potluck: Homestyle Sausage and Peppers”

  1. Seitan sausages?! I have to make them! I love your little story in the beginning. Quirky!

    Happy Virtual Vegan Potluck 3.0 Day!

    ♡ rika, vegan miam
    http://www.veganmiam.com
    ★ we travel + eat vegan blog ★

  2. […] To move to the next post from The Vegan’s Husband please click here https://theveganshusband.wordpress.com/2013/05/11/virtual-vegan-potluck-homestyle-sausage-and-peppers… […]

  3. I ❤ Sausages!!

  4. mmmm, sausage, mmmm onions, mmmm peppers… If you can’t tell you’ve got me salivating. The pairing with red wine looks like a winner, though I’m thinking an ale would go rather well with this too. 🙂

    • Funny enough, I picked up a bottle of Green Flash Red Head red IPA to pair with it, but I knew that one beer just wouldn’t cut it, so a half a bottle of wine it was. The IPA will have to wait for Tonight. . .

      • 🙂 For those days when just one beer won’t do. I felt that way last night after our performance that we did at our church, but I figured with another go today I’d save the multiple beers for some other time as well.

  5. I am IMPRESSED!! I had my doubts, knowing how late in the game you were taking this thing. Rock solid. Oh, and by the way, I have a tortilla press YOU CAN HAVE. I mean it – I don’t want it. Can’t use it. Email me if you’re interested.

    • I live to impress. . . And to be honest, I kinda knew what I was going to make by Tuesday, but I couldn’t get the kitchen time until yesterday so. . .

      That’s super cool of you to offer your tortilla press to me. Thanks so much. I got an e-mail from you about when we were supposed to post, right?

  6. This looks good. I have never eaten sausages because I’ve been raised a vegetarian, but this looks tempting to try. I was torn between a vegan Philly cheesesteak and ravioli and ended up with the ravioli for the potluck.

    • And your ravioli look great. I’m trying to just see every post today, and I’ll go around and make comments tomorrow, and Monday. . . and Tuesday. . .

  7. wow. This is right up my street! Looks fab

  8. What a totally satisfying looking meal!

  9. My mom used to make sausage and peppers all the time when I was younger so this looks like something I have to try! Happy VVP!

    – alexis
    http://www.sugarcoatedvegan.com

  10. I’ve been wanting to try making my own seitan for a while now. Thanks for the recipe! Looks yummy 🙂

    • Yeah, either recipe is pretty much a breeze. The real trick though, is to knead the dough so long that you think you’re overworking it. You want to get as many air bubbles out as possible. Let em know how it goes!

  11. We make sausage (usually Tofurky) and peppers all of the time. I like throwing in a little white wine with the veggies. Now, I need to start making some seitan sausage!

    • I like the Tofurkey sausages, and I bet they’d be perfect for this, because they’re packed n oil. That’s the only thing i wish I could figure out, how to get these guys to release oil while cooking. . .

      A good problem to have, i suppose 😉

  12. I’ve got sausage and peppers planned for dinner this week but I was lazy and bought my sausages, scrap that! I’m going to try making my own. I have never tried seiten before I’m quite excited. Thanks for sharing

  13. […] dude. It was so difficult to choose a favorite Main Dish. Well, a second favorite main dish, after mine (of course). These two were just the brightest stars out of  many many amazingly awesome looking […]

  14. I totally need to get into these sausages, I’ve made seitan a few times now and I’ve got a better handle on it. Looks delish my friend! Thanks for the linkage and the tweets!

    • I’m still a little bitter about how awesome your mini-sliders looked, but if they tasted half as good as they looked then I’m more than a little jealous…

      As for the love, anything for my very first follower. 😉

  15. This is one of my favorite meals! Although I usually chuck in some potatoes and make a hash out of it…mostly cause I’m lazy but I really want to make your seitan and eat this all hot dog style!

    • That’s pretty much what we did! I’ve done this before, but as soon as I can figure out the flavors, I’ll make hot dogs too. Hopefully this summer.

  16. It’s so puzzling to me that I hated meat sausage when I was a meat eater, but now that I’m vegan I love seitan sausage? What’s up with that! Thank you for a great recipe! I can’t wait to try it.

    • You know, I figure there are only two types of people: vegans and people who aren’t vegan yet. You must have been just ahead of the curve!

      You’ll have to let me know how yours turn out.

  17. Another great recipe to use for the reluctant omnis and new veggies… ah heck, I think the sausages will be great for anyone. Thank you for the great recipe.

  18. I’m finally making my way through the second half of the VVP, and these sound great! …so ambitious!

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

