Beer Wednesday – Magic Hat #9

Happy Beer Wednesday!

How does the song go? “If you believe in magic, come along with me. . .” Well, I admit it, I believe. I believe in Magic Hat.

The Magic Hat #9 is the first Magic Hat brew that I’ve drunk, and while I was extremely skeptical about an apricot “Not Quite Pale Ale,” I was rally pleased with how eay it went down and the not overpowering apricot flavor.

Magic Hat, Magic Hat #9, #9, Magic hat Beer, beer, vegan beer, vegan ale, pale ale, not quite pale ale, apricot ale, fruit ale, fruit beer, apricot beer

Now, at 5.1% ABV, I figure I could drink these all night and still know my name, but when I’m drinking an ale, I want it to have a good hop bite, and this just didn’t have that. Not that it didn’t taste good, but I prefer the richness that a good, rich IPA has. The Magic Hat was just the slightest bit thin in both hops and in companion fruit.

A little bit more apricot, and it may have been a pretty solid lambic, while more hops might have made it a better ale. Overall, I’d give this beer a 3/5. It’s certainly drinkable, but not an awesome as I would have liked. . .

~ by VegansHusband on May 29, 2013.

2 Responses to “Beer Wednesday – Magic Hat #9”

  1. […] beers and I don’t really like fruit in my beer. (Although, if you know how I feel about Magic Hat #9 or Dogfish Head’s Aprihop, you know that I might be full of it. . […]

  2. […] Now, don’t misunderstand, Blue Moon is better than any other beer brewed by MillerCoors, but with just 9 IBUs and the claim that it has “zesty orange fruitiness,” well, it just doesn’t have sufficient balance to satisfy a decent beer drinker. If you’re looking for something to swill at a similar price point, I would go with Yuengling lager, or Magic Hat #9. […]

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

