Beer Wednesday – Brother Thelonius

Happy Beer Wednesday!

This week I’m delighted to be moving further and further away from my challenge to Mother Nature to bring summer faster (she won) by taking part in a Belgian Abbey Ale Brother Thelonious, brewed by North Coast Brewing Company.

Brother Thelonious, obviously named after the jazz musician  Thelonious Monk, is a Belgian style abbey-ale, but I thought that for an abbey ale, it was a tad thin, and a bit sweet. The molasses in the nose was appealing, and the smooth effervescence was good, but it was just a bi toff. Now, that may just be because it isn’t Trappiste Rocheforte 10, which, I freely admit, I compare all other abbey ales to, (but can you blame me?). I have real complqints with this berr, anf really, I liked it quite a bit.

Brother Thelonious, North Coast, North Coast Brewing, Belgian Ale, Belgian style ale, Belgian abbey ale, vegan beer, vegan bealgian ale, vegan ale, vegan abbey ale, vegan belgian abbey ale

To finish off this review, however, I’ve finally figured out a new rating system. I originally had used a scale of 1-5 because, well, 5 seemed like a good number. You know, 5 fingers, 5 toes, 5 is half of 10, all that jazz. Well, I stumbled across Aleheads and their beer blog, and saw that when they review beers, they rate them by giving the beers “hops.” Four hops is amazing, zero hops is atrocious. I thought “Gee, how clever, to use an ingredient in your rating system. I wish I had thought of that.”

I didn’t, and while I considered stealing their idea for a second, a great idea dawned on me, like a bolt out of the blue. Beers don’t come in five-packs, they come in six-packs! I would start rating beers on a scale of 1-6, based on how ,any I would hoard keep for myself instead of sharing! Genius!

So, I am happy to give Brother Thelonious my very first rating of 4/6.

Beer, Six pack, Six-pack, beer ratings, rating, beer rank, beer ranking

Enjoy!

~ by VegansHusband on June 26, 2013.

2 Responses to “Beer Wednesday – Brother Thelonius”

  1. I like the new rating system. Ingenious.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

