Baseball Book Review – Fortitude

Jackie Robinson, 42, Robinson, Robinson 42, Fortitude, Robinson Biography, Baseball biography, baseball bio, Jackie Robinson bio

When I grow up, I want to be Jackie Robinson. Seriously. I think Robinson is one of the few absolute superheroes that this world has ever created. He did things that no one else in the United States could have, and this e-book went over a moments in his life with a handful of videos that highlight his achievements and struggles.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t always prefer e-books. In fact I often prefer real books to electronic books, but the inclusion of these videos is one of the things that you just can’t get on paper.

This fairly short e-book was interesting, and it gave me a brief intro into some of the more storied events in Robinson’s life.

With chapters about his upbringing, college, military service, and his play in the Negro Leagues before signing with the Brooklyn Dodgers, the book did a great job of promoting Jackie Robinson’s legacy, which MLB pushes every year on April 15th, but also in celebrating Robinson’s legacy as an African-American freedom fighter, before the term “equal rights” ever existed.

I think Henry Louis Gates, genealogical historian, said it perfectly when he received an award at the 2013 Jackie Robinson Foundation fundraiser, when he said it this way, “In my opinion, without Jackie Robinson, there would have been no Brown v. Board decision from the Supreme Court in 1954. . . there would have been no Rosa Parks and the Montgomery bus boycott. . . there would have been no Martin Luther King Jr.. . . there would have been no modern civil rights movement.”

Jackie Robinson is, in my opinion, the exemplar of what a life should be. It is in no small part because of his example that I am active in my church, which I rarely talk about here, but which is a big part of who I am.

It is in no small part because of his timeless quote, “A life is not important except in the impact it has on other lives,” that I spend time every year traveling with the young people from my church to do service in under-served communities. This year, I’m traveling to the Indian Reservation in Winnegbago, Nebraska. Because I’ve been lucky enough to make some buddies here in the blog-o-sphere, You can expect some fresh awesomeness over the next few posts.

The next two Beer Wednesday posts will be courtesy of Nick, over at Happy to be a Table of Two, where he and his lovely bride Jackie post regularly. Nick posts a “Sunday Sips” post weekly where he reviews almost exclusively beer, and does a heck of a job with it too. Nick was kind enough to agree to guest-post for me, so a great big “Thank you” to him.

In an absolute coup, however, next Sunday you can see the one and only Somer Vedge of Vedged Out here. What I did to get Somer to agree to guest post for me I’m not sure, but I’m not complaining. . . So if you love amazing vegan food, and I know you do, you won’t want to miss it.

So, stick around, and see some of the awesomeness that is to come. I, however, will be back in two weeks (sorry to disappoint you!) with a recap of my trip, and a recipe that I’ve been sitting on for a while, and just haven’t had a chance to write up. You won’t wan tto miss it!

~ by VegansHusband on July 8, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

