Beer Wednesday – Guest Post: Fire Rock IPA

A couple weeks back Jody asked me if I’d be interested in guest blogging for his Beer Wednesday posts for a couple of weeks. I was pretty excited at that idea for a couple of reasons. 1. Who really needs more excuses to try more beer? and 2. I’m new to the whole guest blogging thing, so I thought this was a great way to give it a whirl. The one thing I really wanted to strive for in the guest blog post for you all, was to make sure I was able to stick to beers that “should” be available on the east coast. I wouldn’t want The Vegan’s Husband following to be stuck with some of my favorite Midwest brews that can’t be found out there.

I was recently on a business trip to Melbourne Florida. I find business trips a great time to branch out and find beers that simply aren’t distributed in the Midwest. While we were at dinner I was looking at the list of beers on tap and I was getting somewhat discouraged because I didn’t see anything that would be an IPA on the menu, but there were a few items with a Kona label. I’d never heard of them so I just asked the waitress if they had any IPA on tap. She happily informed me that the Fire Rock was an American style pale ale. I was very excited at this and ordered one up. Now when you’re sitting in a bar/restaurant that happens to have all waterfront dining, you can’t really go wrong with any beer that you choose. So I’m sure my review might be a little more on the good end then had I been sitting at home drinking it, but it was still a pretty tasty ale. I did happen to find this in bottles in Target while I was wandering around later in the evening trying to find Jacks a gift.

Untitled

The brew came out in a large mug, very frosty thanks to the humidity. The beer was a lighter amber color, with virtually no head. Quite honestly I didn’t pick up much in the nose, I mostly smelled salt water in the air. So that didn’t really sit as a good sign to start with, but I dove right in for a taste. It was good and refreshing, a nice bright citrusy hops taste, with a rather malty finish. This wouldn’t sit up there with the mega hoppy IPAs, but I don’t think it was really trying to do that. I think they just went for balance. I found it to be quite enjoyable. Would I go back and drink it over and over again, probably not, but I certainly wasn’t disappointed in my selection either. I’d give it a solid 3 out of 5. Find yourself a nice stretch of beach, grab a brew and enjoy. 😉

~ by VegansHusband on July 10, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

