Beer Wednesday – Starr Hill Grateful Pale Ale

Happy Beer Wednesday!

Now that I’m finally home for one, I’m incredibly happy to first thank Nick, from Happy to be a Table for Two again for guest blogging these past two weeks.

To show just how much I appreciate his willingness to share a vegan beer, I choose Virginia’s Starr Hill Brewery and their “Grateful” Pale Ale.

Starr HIll, Grateful, Pale Ale, Starr HIll Grateful Pale Ale, Vegan beer, Vegan ale, vegan pale ale, starr hill vegan, starr hill vegan beer, virginia beer, virginia vegan beer, virginia pale ale, virginia ale, virginia vegan pale ale, virginia vegan ale, virginia Grateful

Unfortunately, I was less than blown away  by this beer. This pale ale is decent. The pour is clean, with minimal lacing and a thin head, but the flavor presents itself in as clear a way as the color.

The flavor was somewhat thin, and while it might be good on a swelteringly hot day, there are lots of beers that fill that role of “lawnmowers” just as well or better.

Personally, given the choice between them, I’d chose a Magic Hat #9.

I guess I’d rate this beer a 2/6.   Two Beers, Six Pack, Open Six Pack, Broken Six pack, white six pack

Have any of you had a better experience with Starr Hill?

~ by VegansHusband on July 24, 2013.

3 Responses to “Beer Wednesday – Starr Hill Grateful Pale Ale”

  1. Never seen that brewery myself. Its rather sad that while trying to be grateful you were let down. Personally there’s not a whole lot worse than when you want a beer and it doesn’t taste good. I went one night where I cracked open 3 beers only to not finish 3 beers because I was so disappointed in all of them. Alcohol abuse I know, but seriously, if I’m going to drink it, it better be good.

    • I agree whole heartedly. The beer isn’t bad, per se, just not very good. Lowest rating I’ve given any beer yet though, so that must say something disappointing, right?

  2. […] Compared to other light, easy drinking beers that I’ve reviewed (like Yuengling, Sum’r, Grateful, or Stegmaier’s Pale Ale) this one falls about the same, maybe on the higher end of the […]

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

