Beer Wednesday – Brooklyn Brewery Pennant Ale ’55

Happy Beer Wednesday!

This week I’m super excited to review Brooklyn Brewery’s flagship beer, Pennant Ale ’55, celebrating the year that the Brooklyn Dodgers finally won the World Series over their hated cross-town rivals, the New York Yankees.

This vegan beer, however, is perfect for any brewery’s flagship. A balanced nose with a fresh finish, I’m a little disappointed that it took me so long to finally try this beer.

image

With a bright, hoppy bite, but not one that its in any way overpowering, Pennant Ale really set itself apart the same way that the first time I had Sam Adams Boston Lager or Dogfish Head’s 60 Minute Pale Ale.

The mouthfeel was a tad thin, but the overall flavor was bright, bready, with just a bit of hop bite to balance it out (just 24 IBUs). At 5% ABV, Brooklyn’s Pennant Ale is a beer that you can drink for quite some time and not miss a beat.

I really, really liked this particular vegan beer, and it probably was one of the better American ales I’ve ever had, and so, I’m quite pleased to rate it as a 5/6 on my six-pack scale.

5 out of 6, 5/6 sixpack, opened six pack

What’s your favorite American Ale? You know I’m always up for suggestions. . .

~ by VegansHusband on August 7, 2013.

2 Responses to “Beer Wednesday – Brooklyn Brewery Pennant Ale ’55”

  1. I’m certainly going to have to think for a bit on my favorite American Ale. You’ve stumped me in not being able to come up with an answer right off the top of my head.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

