A Fare-Thee-Well to Summer – Summer Luau Salad

Hey all. Have you heard of the Vegan MoFo? No, I don’t mean that jerk at work who eats all of your kale but won’t admit it, I mean the Vegan Month of Food.

Every year, for the past five (fact check) every year there is a month of food blogging, based loosely on NaNoWriMo. (You have heard of National Novel Writing Month, right?) Well, starting about January, I decided that I was going to take part in the Vegan MoFo this year.

Then the start date was announced, and I wimped out. The suggested number of posts was just a little too daunting for me.

I did, however, decide that I will be taking part in next year’s Vegan MoFo, so you’d better watch out!

All of this to suggest to you that I began to notice that I haven’t blogged a single recipe in. . . roughly forever. That is not OK, and so I decided to fix it with lunch.

During the school year, I eat peanut butter and jelly on homemade wheat bread pretty much every day. I love peanut butter, and I like my bread, so, it’s not really an issue. In the summer, I try to up my greens intake by eating many salads, and I often get bored with my homemade Italian dressing (Oil, Balsamic vinegar, and lots of spices) and start throwing other stuff together. This time, i was in the mood for something a little different, and I happened to have a mango and some coconut bacon sitting around and thought to myself, “Bacon, plus tropical fruit equals Polynesian!”

vegan bacon, vegan luau salad, hawaiian salad, mango salad, mango bacon salad, bacon salad, vegan bacon salad, spinach salad, ginner dressing, mango ginger dressing, mango wasabi dressingpolynesian salad dressing, hawaiian salad dressing, polynesian mango salad dressing, hawaiian mango salad dressing

The salad itself is pretty straightforward: Spinach, carrot, red onion, and the special ingredient is Phoney Baloney’s coconut bacon.

Now, I’m not gong to take the time here to rave about this bacon. At some point in the not too far future, I plan on doing a series on vegan bacons, so let me simply say here that1) it’s pretty darn good and 2) it’s a little bit like barbecue potato chips.

The thing that made this into a “Summer Luau Salad,” however, was the dressing. At this pint, changing the dressing could turn this into any bacon-based salad, but I wanted Polynesian/south Pacific.

I took a piece of ginger, minced it, added half a mashed mango and crushed them together. I put in a little bit of Bragg’s Aminos, a little water, and then the secret ingredient, about 1/2 a teaspoon of wasabi powder. The final dressing was a little chunky, but had good body and covered my salad pretty well. You could crush the mango better, or just use juice, but I wanted the chunks. So sue me. . .

vegan bacon, vegan luau salad, hawaiian salad, mango salad, mango bacon salad, bacon salad, vegan bacon salad, spinach salad, ginner dressing, mango ginger dressing, mango wasabi dressingpolynesian salad dressing, hawaiian salad dressing, polynesian mango salad dressing, hawaiian mango salad dressing, Mango, Ginger, Wasabi Salad Dressing

I left the mango chunky, but you could blend it if you wanted.

The final result was rich, delicious, and made me pretty darn happy that I had made myself  a salad for lunch.

vegan bacon, vegan luau salad, hawaiian salad, mango salad, mango bacon salad, bacon salad, vegan bacon salad, spinach salad, ginner dressing, mango ginger dressing, mango wasabi dressingpolynesian salad dressing, hawaiian salad dressing, polynesian mango salad dressing, hawaiian mango salad dressing, Mango, Ginger, Wasabi Salad Dressing

 

Recipe for the salad: (serves one)

Ingredients:

1-2 C. Greens (I used spinach)

2 med Carrots

2-3 slices Red Onion

1/4-1/2 C Phoney Baloney’s Coconut Bacon

Dressing:

1/2 Mango

2-3 tsp Minced Fresh Ginger (a piece about the size of your thumbnail should do)

1 tsp. Bragg’s Aminos or soy sauce or more to taste

1/2-1 tsp wasabi powder, adjust to taste

water

Instructions:

Mix together the first three ingredients or layer them.

Mash mango in a small bowl. Keep as much of the nectar as you can. Feel free to cut both halves so you can munch on one half while making the salad.

Mix the minced ginger with the mango.

Add the Bragg’s Aminos or soy sauce. One tsp. should be sufficient, but add to taste.

Mix in the wasabi powder, and adjust to taste.

Add water until you get the texture you want. More chunks of mango will require more water, smoother mango will require less.

Let the dressing sit for 5-10 minutes.

Drizzle the dressing over the greens, and add the coconut bacon before serving.

See? Not so complicated.

 

All that’s left to do is ask, what is your favorite homemade salad dressing, and how do you make it?

~ by VegansHusband on August 19, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

