Beer Wednesday – Mr. Beer Home Brewing, Part 2

Happy Beer Wednesday!

First, if you haven’t read last week’s introduction to home brewing with the Mr. Beer system, you should do so here. It’s OK, we’ll wait, and we won’t say anything bad about you while you’re gone. . . Probably.

Oh, you’re back? About time We missed you!

Last week, I went through the brewing process for making this beer. This week, I’m really happy to be reviewing my very first home-brew, the Mr. Beer American Light Lager.

Mr. Beer, American Light Lager, Home Brew, Homebrew, Homemade Beer, Hopped Malt extract, Extract Brewing, brewing, home brewing, Brew kit, Beer making kit, ber-making kit, kit brewery,  malt extract

This beer was very carbonated, which caught me of guard. I guess I didn’t really expect it to be all that successful, so everything was a bit of a surprise.

image

The color was a golden yellow, not quite amber, but close. The nose was malty, with a hint of honey in it. I had been hoping for a little bit of hops, but there wasn’t any in the nose to speak of.

The overall flavor was light, with a malty sweetness that caught me of guard. It was tasty and very seasonable, very drinkable.

In general, I really liked this beer, and I don’t like “light lagers,” because they usually taste like seltzer… that someone peed into. This was worth sharing, and in fact, I did share it, with a very similar reaction to mine. If I could have upped the ABV some, I think that would have helped the overall flavor, the ABV is about 3.5%, but if you’re here looking for complaints, you’ll have to look elsewhere.

I give the Mr. Beer American Light Lager a 4/6 on my six-pack scale, but I’m willing to admit that that may be because I made it myself. If you make some yourself, let meet know what you think it deserves.

image

~ by VegansHusband on September 4, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

