Food I Miss: Vegan BLT Salad

So, most vegans will tell you that they don’t miss any foods from when they were omnivores.

I used to say that, and thwn I started looking at a lot of thw foods we were buying. While our day-to-day meals tend towards veggies and tempeh or tofu, our “special” meals, such as when we eat out, always seem to mimic omnivore meals.

Ok, I admit it, I miss some animal products and the meals they create. One of the foods I miss is bacon. Now, I would be willing to live witout bacon because of all the terribleness that it entails, but, I don’t really have to, do I?

There are a million plant-based bacons out there, from PhoneyBaloney’s coconut bqcon to Upton’s Naturals seitan bqcon. As a vegan, if you have a craving, chamces are there’s a plant-based option for you.

In light of this, I was in the mood for a BLT recently, but because I’m trying to be a bit healthier than in the past, My mindwent immedietly to salad.

image

I put myself together a vegan BLT salad, and it was awesome.

image

Using both Upton’s Naturals and my own homemade seitan bqcons (recipe coming once I’ve perfected it) and Vegenaise, I duplicated the crunch, thenswwetness, the savor, and the richness of a traditional BLT, and if you have to, feel free to toss somecroutpns in there for the bread I I missed.

Vegan BLT Salad

Ingredients:
Spinach (or other green, as much as you would use for any salad)
Tomatoes (about 1/3 more than you would put in a normal salad)
Vegan bacon of choice (I used Upton’s Naturals and my own recipe) – 4-6 slices, cooked until crisp.
Tofu – 1/4 block, sliced into ribbons
Vegenaise – 2-3 Tbsp.
Olive oil – 1/2 tsp.
Water
Salt and pepper to taste

For the salad, combine spinach and tomatoes. (Shocking, right?)

Cook the bacon, dicing 2-3 slices abd reserving the rest.

Slice the tofu, and add to salad

For the dressing, combine Vegenaise with the olive oil, and mix well, until the oil and Vegenaise are fully incorporated. Add water until the dressing is about as thick as a traditional cream dressing. Mix in salt and pepper. You won’t need much.

Lay the reserved bacin slices on the sakad while warm, and drizzle the dressing over top.

Super simple, just like a traditional BLT, and getting it right hits that spot perfectly.

The real trick is using the right bacon. Upton’s Naturals is… fine. Wait for my recipe. Coming soon…

image

image

image

image

~ by VegansHusband on September 9, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

