Beer Wednesday – DuClaw Funk

Happy Beer Wednesday!

This week, the vegan beer I’m happy to review is Funk blueberry citrus wheat.

This wheat beer is a beautiful golden color, and the nose is filed with blueberry.

If you like fruit in your beer, you’ll be hard pressed to find a more flavorful, sweet, clean-tasting very than this one.

DuClaw, Funk, Blueberry Wheat, Fruit ale, baltimore beer, Du Claw

Unfortunately, all prior evidence to the contrary, I don’t like fruit in my beer.

The overall flavor of this very was far too sweet for my palate. I thought the blueberry totally overpowered any citrus that may have been there. The wheat was completely nonexistent compared to the fruit flavors.

I generally really like DuClaw’s beers, and to be perfectly honest, I really wanted to like this beer, but I just couldn’t get over the incredible volume of fruit in the beer. I wanted a bite of citrus or hops in here, but it just wasn’t there. Like I said, of your choice of vegan beer is a fruity, sweet, overall tasty beer, then this is going to be just right. For me, not so much.

This very is a 3/6 on my six-pack scale, mostly for a lack of balance. Too bad…

image

~ by VegansHusband on November 13, 2013.

4 Responses to “Beer Wednesday – DuClaw Funk”

  1. Oh no, just say no to fruity beers. 🙂 I’ve learned that lesson long ago. But for a fruity beer it sounds like it was pretty good.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

