Beer Wednesday – Blue Moon Rounder Belgian Pale Ale

Happy Beer Wednesday!

My buddy Jason recently gave me the gift of a mix-six of late summer, early autumn themed beers. Needless to say, I was thrilled with his gift, and the vatiety was astounding. Not every beer he shared with me will end up here, but this first one needed to be here, if for no other reason than because it’s a Belgian style pale ale.

Blue Moon, Rounder, Belgian, Pale Ale, Belgian Ale,

Blue Moon, while owned by Coors, still produces some pretty decent beers. Are they Stone or Dogfish Head? No, but they’re a damn sight better than a standard macrobrew. This version of their beer is much the same.

The head was rich, and hung around for a while, but it only teased the nose. There was some malt there, with a touch of hops, but generally it was a pretty bland nose up front.

Once I started drinking the beer, I got about what I expected: good, not great. When I drink a Belgian pale ale, I tend to want rich flavors, either hops or malt, and this was neither. Oh, don’t misunderstand, the hops were there, if a little light, and the malt wasn’t hiding, but it didn’t have that rich, deep flavor that I tend to associate with a Belgian. It was… fine.

I had a fantasy where every beer with the word “Belgian” on the label was awesome. Then I had this beer.

Is it the worst beer I’ve reviewed here? Not even close. Is it the worst Belgian? Yeah, probably, and so I’m quite pleased to give this beer a three out of six on my six pack scale.

image

Enjoy!

~ by VegansHusband on November 27, 2013.

3 Responses to “Beer Wednesday – Blue Moon Rounder Belgian Pale Ale”

  1. Good beer, funny scale

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

