Beer Wednesday – The Fear Pumpkin Ale

Happy Beer Wednesday!

First, I’m sorry that I missed last Wednesday, I’ve been swamped with excuses, and couldn’t find just the right one. Instead of retaking you with my stories about that, though, allow me to apologize with a review of Flying Dog’s imperial pumpkin ale, “The Fear.”

Flying Dog, Imperial Pumpkin Ale, The Fear, Pumpkin Ale, Autumn Ale

This pumpkin ale is rich and complex, with lots of depth of flavor. The nose starts a little thin, but as it warms up, it opens into a beautiful nose of pumpkin, nutmeg, and cinnamon, with a great thick, rich head and beautiful lacing.

Once I started drinking it, the pumpkin really came through, but not in a pushy, sweet way. Instead it was fresh, a little sweet, and full-flavored, with definite pumpkin and nutmeg flavors.

The hops still shone, without getting into competition with the pumpkin. My only complaint with the beer is that it has a slightly alcoholic finish, but that may have been because of the fact that it was an imperial ale.

Overall, I’m thrilled to give this beer a four out of six on my six-pack scale.

image

~ by VegansHusband on December 18, 2013.

2 Responses to “Beer Wednesday – The Fear Pumpkin Ale”

  1. Yum, this sounds amazing. I’ve never tried a pumpkin ale, they’re not really sold over here in Australia. We do have mango beer though. It’s amazing! I need to see if I can track one of these brews down. Loving your reviews.

    • Mango, huh? That sounds awesome. The Fear it’s probably my favorite pumpkin beer though. Too many of the rest of them are just too sweet. Let me know if you find this in Australia. If not, let Flying Dog know you want them.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

