Beer Wednesday – Pumpkick Pumpkin/Cranberry Ale

Happy Beer Wednesday!

This week, I’m reviewing my penultimate autumn seasonal beer with one that I first came across on Happy to be a Table of Two. Nick’s “Sunday Sips” it’s a regular part that I always make our a point to read. This particular brew is one that I remember clearly, and its the last beer that came from my buddy’s mix-six.

New Belguim, Pumpkick, Pumpkin beer, Cranberry beer, New Belgium Brweery

The first thing to mention is that the color was a really clear amber, with a hint of red, I assume from teh cranberry.And the cranberry and pumpkin were both good, solid clear flavors. You could sense each of them neatly, but there was competition there. They seemed to keep trying to out-do each other, and the hops that were in the flaver were barely recognizable, except as another competing flavor.

The overall balance was flat, and a little odd, in general.I’m a little disappointed, because I’ve generally really liked New Belgium’s beers in the past, but this one was not only weird, it wasn’t very good. I’d like to have more positive things to say about it, because I like pumpkin, I love cranberry, and beer might be my favorite thing to put in my belly, but, I’m saddened to give this brew a 2/6 on my six-pack scale.  I’d avoid it if I were you.

Two Beers, Six Pack, Open Six Pack, Broken Six pack, white six pack

~ by VegansHusband on January 9, 2014.

2 Responses to “Beer Wednesday – Pumpkick Pumpkin/Cranberry Ale”

  1. Thanks a ton for the shout out. I really should get back to blogging. Its been crazy busy at work and I was feeling like my reviews were kind of removing the fun of me just enjoying a beer. But now you’ve made me feel all loved again so I’ll have to go back. 🙂

    • Lol! Hey, thanks for the original suggestion, even if we do agree on the quality of the beer.

      I understand the way beer reviewing can start to take over your drinking, but I was lucky enough to have had a handful of bets on hand at once, so I had no trouble enjoying some and just drinking them, while deliberately blogging about others. Either way, get back out there.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

