Our Valentine’s Day

I know I’ve been gone for a while, but, you know how it us. Today, though, I wanted to celebrate what the Blonde and I did for Valentine’s Day this year, or at least on the 15th, our Valentine’s Day.

We rarely do anything for V Day, mostly because we’ve been together for so long, that celebrating on Valentine’s Day seems trite and overpriced. These past few years we decided not to go out and overpay for dinner, but to make a nice, special dinner for ourselves from scratch.

This year, courtesy of Chickpea magazine, we decided to make their pierogies.

image

I can’t post their recipe here, as it isn’t mine, but it’s really very simple. Make a dough with flour, water, and a little oil;

image

cut it in circles (I used a water glass);
image

and fill it with a filing of mashed potatoes and sauteed onions.

image
image

We cooked them three ways: baked, fried, and boiled. Baked was by far the best of the three. They were filing, just the smallest bit crunchy, and perfectly savory.

image

We also had a new bottle of wine to go with dinner. For her birthday, I got the Blonde a bottle of Cakebread Cellars merlot. Cakebread is a vegan vineyard, and an expensive (for us) bottle of wine.
image

Now, I’m not going to go full-on Beer Wednesday in telling you about this wine. I don’t know enough about wine to review it for real. I can tell you that I can tell the difference between this bottle of wine and a $15 bottle. This was smoother, cleaner, and went down a little too easily.

Overall, the Blonde and I were really happy with a stay-inside, cook-all-day, just-be-together O.V.D., our Valentine’s Day.

Did you and your loved ones do anything especially special?

~ by VegansHusband on February 17, 2014.

2 Responses to “Our Valentine’s Day”

  1. Thanks for the link! You just made me realize that I should review the wines we enjoy on my site. Can’t believe I never thought of that. We drink wine regularly and I’ve hardly mentioned a thing about it. NIce job on the pierogies!

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

