Beer Wednesday – The Poet Oatmeal Stout

Happy Beer Wednesday!

This week, I’ m happy to be reviewing a beer named for, I assume, Edgar Allen Poe. I make that ssumption because the bottle of this vegan beer has a raven on it, and, just about everyone is familiar with his famous poem, “The Raven.”

vegan beer, Edgar Allen Poe beer, stout, oatmeal stout, the poet, New Holland Brewing Company, New Holland

This particular stout has a smooth, malty chocolate taste. The hops were very light (just 40 IBUs), but this particular brew was very well balanced. The low ABV, 5.2%, made it extremely drinkable as well.

This was a terrific stout, despite the fact that it had a very slight burnt aftertaste, but even that was not entirely unpleasant. The aftertaste didn’t appeal to me very much, but it wasn’t severe enough to bother me. All of the pieces came together beautifully, and, as an English teacher living in Maryland, I’m really happy that it worked, because I think Poe woudl have risen up from his grave to take revenge on this Michigan brewery if it hadn’t!

I’m happy to have had this stout, and I’m equally happy to give this stout a 5/6 on my six-pack scale. Stouts aren’t my favorite brew, but I can recognize a good example when I see one. Which ones have you come across that impress you?

5 out of 6, 5/6 sixpack, opened six pack

~ by VegansHusband on April 9, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

