My New Obsession

Ok, I have a confession to make: I do things in fits and starts. I get fascinated and compelled and, eventually, obsessed.

If you look back at my posts from about a year ago, you’ll see that not only did I rarely miss a post, but I was managing to post three times a week: Food posts on Monday, Beer Wednesday, and Haiku Friday. I have since become less obsessed with blogging, as evidenced by my lack of posts about anything except beer for months.

(Not that I like food any less, but just that those vegan beer reviews are generally easy to write for me.)

Now, I have a new obsession: Ancestry.com.

How have I waited so long to find this? I’m fascinated, obsessed, and totally enthralled. In just a few weeks, I have discovered great-grandparents, great-grandparents-in-law, and cousins that I had no idea existed. I’m flabbergasted.

I’ve gone to the website, but to be honest, I think I prefer the app on my Nook more.

image

The layout is cleaner, it’s easier to navigate, and I prefer the dark background to the white background of the online version.

Family Tree

 

But the app aside, I’m blown away by my new fascination with where my family has come from.  I keep seeing new things that I didn’t know, and I can’t help but keep digging. I’m even digging into the Blonde’s family history. If I’m lucky, I’ll be able to glean some information from my sole remaining grandparent and will have something that I’m really proud of soon.

My one real complaint is that Ancestry.com is expensive! for a year’s membership that will pull information from Europe (and I’ve gotten most of my family members until they came over, it costs almost $300! Don’t get me wrong, I think that a lot of this is probably worth it, but wow that’s expensive for information.

Not that that matters. . . I’ll end up paying it at some point, but not today. I just hope that this obsession carries through long enough for me to finish my family tree. . .

What obsessions do you have, and how do you maintain them?

~ by VegansHusband on April 21, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

