Breakfast Review – Tofurkey Quiche

Happy Monday, all. This past weekend the Blonde and I were in the mood for junk food for breakfast. See, generally she makes breakfast for us, and usually it’s pancakes, waffles, or a tofu scramble, but we were bored, and didn’t know what we wanted, and neither of us wanted to cook, so, like magic, she pulled a box from the freezer!

Tofurkey, quiche, vegan, vegan food, vegan quiche, tofurkey quiche, seitan, veggie, vegetable

Yup, the Tofurkey quiche. Single serve, about the size of a pot pie, and totally cheater breakfast food.

My mother makes quiche, but the first two ingredients in her are mayonnaise and eggs. . . I might be able to swap out the mayo with Just Mayo or Vegenaise, but I think replacing the eggs with applesauce or egg replacer or something else might be a bridge too far. Maybe silken tofu. . .  Hmmm, but that’s another blog post.

Tofurkey, quiche, vegan, vegan food, vegan quiche, tofurkey quiche, seitan, veggie, vegetable

The quiche itself was pretty tasty. Lots of spinach and red pepper, with a smooth, soft texture. It was reminiscent of traditional breakfast quiche. The sausage in it was tasty, if a bit too salty (which is a trademark of Tofurkey, I think). The crust was really tasty, and I’d be lying if I didn’t say that I loved a good savory crust. This one was a little flaky, just the right amount of density, with a richness that usually denotes butter, but did the job in this vegan breakfast.

I wonder, though, how would you go about duplicating this, or better yet, making an improved version? Before I ruin the kitchen (which I apparently always do when I cook) I’d like a plan. . .  So, ideas?

 

 

 

~ by VegansHusband on April 28, 2014.

2 Responses to “Breakfast Review – Tofurkey Quiche”

  1. I would definitely go with silken tofu, nooch and cashew cream. Probably with leeks, spinach and some other veggies. I can do my own crust, but I really like whole foods whole wheat crust from the freezer section.

Leave a Reply

 
Samantha Lin

all things literary (and some things not)

Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

X-ways series

creative e-book series

