Beer Wednesday – Dogfish Head Raison d’Etre

Happy Beer Wednesday!

This week I’m thrilled to review another Dogfish Head beer. It’s been a while since I’ve reviewed a vegan beer by this Delaware brewery, and I’ve got a few bottles of their brown ale brewed with raisins; Raison d’Etre, or their “reason for being.”

imageFirst, you’ve got to know that I don’t always love brown ales. I tend to find them too malty, too sweet, and not hoppy enough by half. This brown ale stayed true to form, as it was a little too sweet for me, and the balance always seems just a tad off.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s tasty, and at 8% ABV, it packs quite a punch, but I probably couldn’t drink more than one or two of them.

This vegan beer by Dogfish Head is a pretty good example of a brown ale, but I just can’t get into it. Because of that, and not really any other reason, I’m giving this beer a 3/6 on my 6-pack scale.

six pack, three beers, beer, 3/6,

Do you agree? Disagree? Let me know in the comments.

~ by VegansHusband on January 7, 2015.

2 Responses to “Beer Wednesday – Dogfish Head Raison d’Etre”

  1. yum yum yumm! This beer sounds really good!

Leave a comment

 
Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Michelle Neff

Writer and Social Media Strategist