Beer Wednesday – Duckpin Pale Ale

Happy Beer Wednesday!

As I’ve been drinking and blogging about beer, there have been some amazing brews that I’ve been lucky enough to tell you about. Unfortunately, some vegan beers have been less than amazing, and this week’s vegan brew falls into that category. The beer is Union Craft Brewing’s Duckpin Pale Ale.

image

At just 5.5% ABV, it was almost a session ale, and I had the same complaint with it that I have with most of the session ales: it was kind of one-note.

The head faded quickly, and while it was light both in mouth-feel and in flavor, there was almost no malt, the the hops were just a little citrus, with a little too much bitterness. There just wasn’t much to this vegan beer.

Because it didn’t impress me, I have to admit that I’m a little disappointed in this particular Baltimore beer. That having been said, it’s certainly drinkable, and I could see myself drinking a few too many of these Baltimore beers on a hot summer day, so I’m not unhappy to give this vegan beer a 3/6 on my six-pack scale.

six pack, three beers, beer, 3/6,Are you a fan? Have I missed the mark on this one? Let me know in the comments below.

~ by VegansHusband on January 14, 2015.

3 Responses to “Beer Wednesday – Duckpin Pale Ale”

  1. Do you know of any Vegan light beers that are not filled with GMO’s, like GMO corn and GMO corn syrup?

    “If only I could so live and so serve the world that after me there should never again be birds in cages* or animals in shelters” *Isak Dinesen author of OUT OF AFRICA “No one could make a greater mistake than he who did nothing because he could do only a little.” Edmund Burke “We can do no great things, only small things with great love.” Mother Teresa

    Date: Wed, 14 Jan 2015 15:35:47 +0000 To: hottdeanne@hotmail.com

    • Off the top of my head, I don’t know of any vegan light beers that avoid GMOs, but Uinta, out of Salt Lake City, makes a series of organic beers, as does Wolaver’s. I don’t know that either makes a light beer, but if you find one, please let me know.

  2. Being a beer loving Belgian, I haven’t tired this beer yet. It sounds delicious though!
    Happy Fun & Culinary beer tasting 2015!!! 🙂 x

Leave a comment

 
Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Michelle Neff

Writer and Social Media Strategist