Beer Wednesday: Hop Heaven Week 2 – Green Flash Palate Wrecker

Happy Beer Wednesday! Or should I say “Hoppy” Beer Wednesday?

This week I’m continuing my visit to hop heaven with a trip to Green Flash’s Palate Wrecker Imperial IPA, or, as they refer to it, “Hamilton’s Ale.”

Green Flash, Palate Wrecker, Imperial IPA, IPA, Double IPA, Hamilton's ale, vegan beer, vegan ale, vegan imperial IPA, vegan double IPA, vegan ale, pale ale, vegan pale ale,

As you might expect, this ale was super hoppy. I mean, at 149 IBUs, it was mouth puckeringly bitter. Interestingly enough, though, there was a really strong malt and a rich citrus nose. At 9.5% ABV, I expected it to taste stronger, but the mouthfeel was thick and that, plus the incredible hoppiness, hid the alcohol.

I can’t claim that there wasn’t truth in advertising there, as this did indeed annihilate my palate for anything else. . . until the Blonde took out some dried dates. The sweetness of the dates managed to hold up with the bitterness of the beer, and they ended up pairing perfectly.

Don’t assume that you could drink this beer with dinner, but maybe as a dessert beer paired with something really sweet.

Either way, I’m hopped up to give this vegan double IPA a 3 out of 6 on my six-pack scale, and of the hoppy beers I’ve had, this one ranks a 1-hop, not because it’s bad, but just because of the ones I’ve had, it was my least favorite.

six pack, three beers, beer, 3/6,

 

 

Hops, bines, hop, beer, hoppy beer, ale, single hop, one hop, hops

If you’ve had this vegan beer, let me know if you agree with my opinion, or if my head is in the clouds!

~ by VegansHusband on July 9, 2014.

Leave a comment

 
Beer in Nashville

a home brewer muses on the state of the art in Music City

the dirty hippie & the bohemian girl

an eco-aware, flower power, neo-hippie, vegan blog

The AleMonger

Craft Beer, Tangents, Rules, and Rants

Animal Blawg

Transcending Speciesism Since October 2008

The Dogs of Beer

Home of the Delaware Beer Blog - Drinker of beer. Writer of stuff.

Dana Does Dinner

Site moved to: http://nutritionbyintuition.com

Michelle Neff

Writer and Social Media Strategist